diagnosis copy

Mental Health Monday – BPD Diagnosis a Comic Strip…


Inspired by having read a few comic strip style blogs and having been enjoying drawing lately I thought I would do something a little different and turn myself into a comic character.

I have told the story of my diagnosis before here  but I am retelling it today in this different format, I hope you enjoy it!

I would love to know what you think of this new format! Thank you :)

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments :)



Bookmark & Share

34 comments on “Mental Health Monday – BPD Diagnosis a Comic Strip…

  1. cute format :)
    how did you draw the comic?
    all with the computer or the traditional way “pencil and paper” and than scanning?
    and i love the multicolor hair of the comic you :)

  2. I love this. It also go to show how different a diagnosis it for different people. You would think it would generally be the same for everyone. Get a diagnosis, know what it is and then despair. But with BPD so many people don’t know what they are being burderned with!

    • Yeah, sometimes getting a diagnosis is just a relief, as you now know why you have certain problems, but other times it is like being given a life sentence, and always the experience is different for each person xx

  3. I will share this as it is really makes an impact! Well done.

    Remember, you are trying to change emotion management behaviors learned over years and years of your life; that is not easy! Think of how many people you watch lose weight only to gain it all back. They have not been able to change their behavior long-term either. So pat yourself on the back every time you manage to react differently than you have in the past, because you deserve it!

    Have you taken any DBT Classes? Everyone in our family has found dialectical behavior therapy (DBT,) a system of therapy originally developed by Marsha M. Linehan, a psychology researcher at the University of Washington, so helpful. The website dbtselfhelp.com has useful graphic illustrations of DBT techniques, too.

    Best wishes to you! Aloha, Auntie Lynn

    • Thanks Lynn, I wish I could access DBT but it is just not available where I live :( I have some of Marsha’s books on the topic and I’m having psychotherapy so I hope to gradually get better, it’s a journey though! :) xx

  4. Very nice! I love the cartoons as a way to express yourself.

    I have some people that are close to me with undiagnosed BPD. It’s very hard to watch the judgments that others make of them because of their disease. Unfortunately, they will not take my suggestions to seek out mental health care.

    • Thank you Nicole. To be honest I’m not sure mental heath care is all that helpful – it certainly hasn’t been for me! :( and the stigma attached to being diagnosed with BPD is horrific and can actually prevent you getting help. But there are some good things out there (I’ve heard from others) it’s a bit of a postal code lottery if you are lucky enough to live somewhere where you can access DBT or other good support! :/

      • Thanks Sharon! Unfortunately, good mental health care is also sort of a lottery. There are a lot of bad ones in the bunch. It takes time and effort to find one that can help but that can often be costly and highly discouraging, especially to those that truly need it.

        I’m glad you are finding some great outlets for you. Keep looking, the rest will come as long as you don’t give up.

      • Indeed, I am having to pay privately for psychotherapy (my therapist is great) but I should be getting help on the NHS, but I’m about to start on a complaints campaign to see if I can fix that! Drawing and writing are being a big help at the moment, along with reading about the experiences of others :) Just hope I can keep it all up!

  5. Openness and transparency are two traits I greatly admire. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this. I think the comic strip is an incredibly effective way of sharing.

    Thanks for opening up to your readers. Kudos to you!

  6. Shar,

    12:44am here in South Africa and I am lying in bed reading your post, facinated with it. Each of your drawings resonate within me. Thank you! S

    PS: Love the new pic :)

  7. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – The one with a Memoir Taster | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  8. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – Over Halfway there… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  9. Pingback: The Ultimate Blog Round-Up | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  10. Hi Busy Gal,
    ‘Looks like a hit, like you have already been doing this for years. I think this comic strip expresses what would take several pages of writing to do. I love the idea of busting stigma in such an accessible way (so no one has to read, heaven forbid). I love it, and when I read it I also wanted more, like why Google isn’t always helpful — I think you’re on to something good :))))) thanks and blessings …

  11. Pingback: Mental Health Monday – Christmas with the Cluster B Personality Disorders | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Leave a Reply

