Dream___Mirror_of_Reality_by_kimag3500

Paranoia, Delusions and Dissociation in Borderline Personality Disorder


Paranoia, delusions and dissociation are the subject of the ninth diagnostic criteria for BPD.

The DSM IV-TR states:

9. transient, stress-related paranoid ideation or severe dissociative symptoms

Borderline Personality Today explain this as:

During periods of extreme stress, transient paranoid ideation or dissociative symptoms (e.g., depersonalization) may occur (Criterion 9), but these are generally of insufficient severity or duration to warrant an additional diagnosis. These episodes occur most frequently in response to a real or imagined abandonment. Symptoms tend to be transient, lasting minutes or hours. The real or perceived return of the caregiver’s nurturance may result in a remission of symptoms.

As with most of the criteria for diagnosis you can see again here the overlap between symptoms, in how abandonment issues (criteria 1) are closely linked to criteria 9, often causing the expression of these symptoms.

Personally I would say that on the point of these symptoms being transient that I feel the paranoid delusional elements are more transient than the dissociative symptoms. A paranoid delusion is:

Paranoid Delusions are beliefs of a suspicious nature, where the person believes something is not right with them, another person(s), or the world in general, which poses serious problems for them.

source: SimplePsych

For me these kinds of thing will occur infrequently at times when I am very stressed out by a situation or person. I will feel like they or everyone is out to get me and become very distressed (sometimes to the point of triggering self-harm episodes). This will often be linked to being let down or hurt by someone I thought I could trust or rely on in some way. I will then feel like I can trust no-one, a ‘me against the world’ syndrome developing temporarily. During these episodes of paranoia and delusion I worry about what people think of me and feel there is something fundamentally wrong with me that causes people to hate me and treat me badly, I feel I don’t deserve to be happy or loved and that everyone would be better off without me, which can then lead to suicidal ideation’s. I get suspicious of everything and everyone, imaging a multitude of motivations for their action or inaction, with beliefs that they want to hurt me and are being nasty or taking advantage of me.

Paranoid delusions can then lead on to dissociation, dissociation can happen independently but is more likely to be triggered by paranoid thoughts. For me dissociation can be far more long lasting than the short periods of paranoia and delusions. While the paranoia and delusions can be very harmful to me in the short term (due to the risks of self-harm and suicide attempts as a result) the pervasive persistence of dissociation is possibly more damaging overall.

Dissociation is a form of detachment, most often it occurs of it’s own accord, leaving you feeling numb, strange, unreal and apart from everything. All people can experience mild versions of this, like those times when you just feel like you have been on automatic pilot whilst doing something. With BPD and other dissociative disorders, this feeling can be much more all encompassing and normal life can feel like you are a robot just going through the motions of ‘doing’ without feeling or connecting on any level – this is how I feel much of the time. A its most extreme dissociation will lead to a complete block of memories of an event, such as those people who cannot recall situations in which they were severely abused, because they had cut-off completely, blocked all memory of the event as a survival method.

I have currently been experiencing a phase of severe dissociation, bought on by a stressful event in which I was hurt and let down by people I thought were friends. Initially it led to paranoid delusions, but then those delusional thoughts led to a complete social shut-down. I switched off, locked out and cut off from life outside. Leaving the house for anything other than ‘must-do’ activities such as food shopping and appointments became not only something I couldn’t do, but didn’t want to. I didn’t want to see or be near people at all. Fear of feeling any more hurt – a conscious dissociation was coupled with the natural development of subconscious dissociation. basically it is all about escaping from painful, stressful feelings and situations. Some people will do or say things they cannot remember when they experience severe dissociation, or the distorted connection with reality will mean that you experience a situation very differently to others who may share the situation/event.

For me dissociation is more closely associated with my low phases, depression, difficulties eating and sleeping will accompany these phases. At the moment I have been deliberately trying to fight against the conscious elements of my dissociation once I realised I was cutting myself off from the outside world I have been forcing myself to do things that get me out of the house and mixing with people, however this is only serving to reinforce the paranoid thoughts and pushing the subconscious dissociation forward. The last time I entered a phase like this I spent all my time sat at home studying and barely spoke to anyone for 3-4 years, when I finally broke out of the cycle I went into a manic phase and was behaving impulsively and recklessly. As I don’t want to become a social leper, hermit, recluse for the next few years I am trying, and trying to maintain links with the outside world and get out, but it is hard to keep this up as I really just want to hide away and vanish – this is the conscious level of dissociating. On the subconscious level even when I am going out mixing with people I don’t feel I am really ‘there’ it’s like I’m watching myself through a mirror this person being happy, smiling, having fun isn’t really me, it’s a mask, an act, the real me is locked behind the glass. None of it feels real, and anything that does feel real hurts – sparking a vicious cycle of triggering more paranoia, self-harm and so on. I am not sure when I will come back from this place, or even if I will, and sometimes I’m not even sure I want to as reality just feels like something I am too scared to face at the moment…

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments :)



Bookmark & Share

85 comments on “Paranoia, Delusions and Dissociation in Borderline Personality Disorder

  1. thanks for visiting my blog and posting here, and thanks for writing. in the midst of so many theories of treatment, the most profound healing for me has taken place by hearing myself in the experiences of others, and having others hear themselves in my experiences. Thanks for being so articulate — the paradox of brilliance and isolation.

      • Sharon, great reading this. My daughter is only 17 and has been seeing a psychiatrist. He put her on a low dosage mood stabilizer and prescribed a counselor, but after reading this and other articles about BPD I am 100% convinced she has it more so than bipolar disorder. She has been having suicidal thoughts, etc and is in a low place and wants help. She has almost all of the symptoms except for the self-harm and substance abuse. She escapes into Tumblr and fan fiction and tv shows and books to the point of isolation. I am trying to find a professional now that can truly evaluate her and help her. Why is it so hard to find?
        Would it be harmful for me to suggest to her that she may be a Borderline? She loves to research and read and is pretty much obsesssed with her mental health right now. She wants to be better.

      • If she is keen to get better and understand what is wrong with her then I think you may be in the rare place of being able to suggest she read about BPD without it causing world war 3! Go for it, just take it carefully because it may not be what she wants to hear despite her apparent eagerness to find out more. Good luck

    • Dearest heartjunky:
      Your blog helps so much. My husband was married to a woman who suffers from Borderline Personality disorder. Only recently was this “diagnosed”. I was so angry at this woman and how abusive she treated a man that I love and who worked so hard to save his marriage and her. My understanding and research has totally defused my anger at her mistreatment, abuse and verbal/physical attacks on him because for the first time I understand the prison she lives in. Thank you so much for being so open and letting me see the person behind the diagnosis. It helps!! May the knowledge that you are helping others help you too.
      Leslie

      • hi there ive been diagnosed with bpd and hear voices and see things that arent there just wanting to know if its possible to have visual hallucinations with bpd i dont really understand what is going on with me i think its pyschosis what is your take on this thankyou

      • I’ve never experienced visual hallucinations myself, but that doesn’t mean to say it isn’t possible, although I would think it likely something else may be happening here, best to speak with your therapist about it really…

    • wow thank you so much for posting this. As I was reading i could relate to every word..it was like me typing, except I never knew how to put it in words because i was confused by it so much I couldnt put it into words. Thank-you..i’m glad there is someone I can relate to.

    • I don’t know how old this post is or if it will reach you, but I would be curious to know if you share in a related experience as me. I’ve become aware of a deft capacity to consciously shut down my memory after what I deem to be shameful behavior on my part – for example, I was caught by my dr when abusing prescription meds. My immediate response was internal shame and fear. But within an hour I knew I was pushing the event outside my spectrum of awareness, in part to nullify the emotional agony, but also because this event was heaped upon so many other triggering stresses, it was as though I was psychologically buckling under the pressure and my mind has become quite skilled at selective amnesia. Some of my behaviors which I find excruciatingly painful CAN be recalled if I press myself. It’s not really forgotten. However I’m fascinated at how I can shut down embarrassing or painful memories and carry on as though they did not happen.

      • Hi, Thanks for the comment. I haven’t experienced that to the same degree that you have, but there have been things more from childhood, that happened that I have blocked out. More I find that there is a tendency to dissociate from events, they are no longer real to me and as such the emotional connection to them is removed, if you get what I mean? Not sure if that helps at all?

      • Trish thank you for describing how you can shut down. i am just coming out of a relationship with a 55 year old bpd woman. She seemed to have no recollection of why so many people did not want anything more to do with her, I was later informed she had been violent with them and very abusive. When she would see them or talk about them she would behave as if nothing had happened. I had begun to suspect that she had amnesia about these events, your post clarifies this very well. I am wondering if her shut down is preventing her from seeing that she has a problem and needs help for it.

  2. Great post! I have felt shut down from people for a while now. It also started after a traumatic event with loved ones. I was also feeling unreal, both among people and alone, for a long time. I force myself to be around people too, and lately it has started to feel a little more natural at times. I think maybe dissociation takes a while to wear off, even when exposed to healthy situations with others? Yesterday I went to visit a friend who lives in another city, I hadn’t seen her for a while and during the last year I was almost always dissociated when we met, but yesterday it was a lot better, I was much more confident and relaxed. A conciouss relationship with the God of my choice has helped with this too, I guess. It works for feeling your primary caregiver is always with you and won’t abandon you, I guess ;)
    I really like your blog. And I’m sure you’ll get over it. Probably it will just take some more time, or you need to figure out something more, who knows. But you are strong and determined, I trust you’ll get well.
    See you around! :)

  3. Pingback: This Week in Mentalists- The bad tattoos edition. « This Week in Mentalists

  4. Pingback: What is Self-harm? 10 common methods | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  5. Pingback: The Ultimate Blog Round-Up | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  6. Pingback: Splitting – Unstable Relationships in Borderline Personality Disorder | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  7. Pingback: Boredom and Borderline Personality Disorder | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  8. Pingback: Forward, Forward, Come On « Writing Thru Complex PTSD

  9. Pingback: Go Forward Already « difficult degrees…….

  10. Pingback: authenticating my symptoms — dissociation & its ingredients « under ground

  11. Pingback: Impulsivity and Borderline Personality Disorder | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  12. Pingback: What happens when a person with BPD ends a relationship | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  13. Pingback: 2012 First Quarter Blog Round-Up and Inspiring Blogger Award | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  14. Pingback: On the Borderline of Life – Guest Post by Mike | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  15. Hello, first of all I think you are very brave to be so open and honest about this condition. I wanted to ask something because I am very much in the dark myself about this condition.

    How do you go about helping someone who could be suffering from this disorder that doesn’t know they have it? Someone you live with.

    So much of what you have written rings true to me when I think of my partner. The delusions and paranoia that everyone is out to get him, he can turn into someone so negative and hard mouthed. It is so harmful to the relationship that it scares me, and in time could completely destroy it.

    He comes out with things days later that he has twisted up so badly I have no idea what he is talking about and refuses to accept there is no truth in it. He accuses me of being disrespectful and ganging up on him with my son. In the mean time I am the one that is made to feel disassociated and left on the sidelines not knowing what is wrong until I can eek out the root of it. This hurts and then he accuses me of sulking – it is not a sulk, I am simply hurt by his behaviour. I am beginning to think he does not trust me and there are no grounds for this at all. I love him dearly but of late it is causing resentment in my son, (he is not his son, but my first partners) because of the anti-social way my partner talks to me sometimes. I could not ask for a more wonderful and kind son, he is 17 and a rock for me. I am wondering if maybe my partner is jealous of him, maybe he wants me all to himself, I don’t know. One day we are his rock and the next it feels like there is no trust.

    We have been together for 3 years and talking of marriage. I have alarm bells going off and I really want this to work – I know this is my problem but if anyone has any ideas on what I can do to help him, I would love to know, thanks Fi.

    • Hi Fi,

      Thank you. Trying to help someone who is not aware of having BPD can be very difficult, as he may not accept that he has a problem and may think you are the one with a problem instead, especially if he is very paranoid like you say. It may also be that any number of other mental health conditions or even drugs (cannabis smoking produces high levels of paranoia) could be the cause of his issues. Without a medical diagnosis it can not be certain that BPD is the issue, and again trying to get a diagnosis, especially if the person does not think/believe there is anything wrong with them can be tough. As you can understand you cannot make someone get help if they don’t want to and even if you manage to talk to him about your concerns he may not respond well.

      Have you read any of my other posts about BPD? as there is so much more to it than just the paranoia, delusions & dissociation described in this post.

      You say you love him and want your relationship to work but at the same time alarm bells are going off and you are scared of the harm he is doing to your relationship. To be honest this doesn’t sound like it is good for you, sometimes love just isn’t enough :( If he cannot, will not or does not want to get help or try to change his behaviour there is little you can do to help him, you need to find out if he can/will do anything to change. If he wants to then you can help and support him but if not you are probably better off walking away before it destroy’s you. I’m sorry if this is not what you wanted to hear, as giving up on someone you love is very difficult but at the end of the day improvements have to start with him, you can’t do it for him. So, basically all you can do at this stage is try to find out what he is willing to do in order to try (e.g get a diagnosis and help) and save his relationship with you, once you know that you can determine your next steps.

      Sharon

  16. I had to google BPD delusions and I’m glad your blog came up! I’m very much experiencing this or I think I am. Someone is lying too me (either myself or my partner or I guess no one) and I really don’t know what to do. I find this embarrassing to I don’t even want to talk about it.

  17. Hi!
    First of all, thank you for sharing what you feel and how difficult it gets to cope with BP. It has really helped me understand what my (recent) ex must go through.
    Around two months back, my (then) boyfriend and I were having major issues in our relationship. I am a highly temperamental person myself, and when he started telling me about his insecurities of feeling inferior (even to me) and hence not liking people, it used to really get to me and we would always end up in a fight. At that time, none of us knew what he was suffering from although we knew both of us were in need of counselling for depression and suicidal tendencies. He started going to the shrink and then the counsellor to get help but they both suggested immediate admission at the hospital. He has a job that isn’t even a year old and can’t take a long break from it and hence, he didn’t get admitted although he did go for a few more sessions.
    When I couldn’t take the fights and the spats anymore, I broke up with him. I thought maybe I didn’t know how to deal with relationships or people and it must be for our good that we learnt to handle our own shit before helping the other. Unfortunately, the break up was a bad trigger and he started getting more violent and started harming himself more than ever. For the last one month, the poor guy has been going bonkers trying to figure out why he’d been having black and white phases and why he thought the way he did- at one moment loving me to death and at the other, hating me to be able to kill. I too, couldn’t understand why he would react so extremely to me and why he couldn’t make up his mind.
    About a week back, he was browsing online and came across BPD and realized it looked more familiar than anything else. Although he hasn’t gone to the counsellor in the last month, we are pretty sure he obviously has BPD. This is where your blog figures. He read your blog and identified with it and referred it to me to tell me how it feels. I read your blog and cried. I realized it must be so difficult. If only I had known and read more about BPD earlier, things wouldn’t have turned so bad. Hopefully, now I can do my little to understand him better. Thank you over and over again for this blog and for your help.

    Much love,
    K
    (Sorry if this was unnecessarily long! :( )

    • Hi K :)

      First of all don’t worry about long posts, that’s fine here! lol ;) and thank you, I’m glad my posts have been helpful :)

      It can take a long time to discover you have BPD and many professionals hesitate to diagnose it because of the implications such a label carries (as you have probably read in some of my posts!) but the knowledge can be a relief as I think your (ex) boyfriend has found even without full diagnosis because at least it means you have explanations for things you never understood about your own behaviour and finding ways to get better and overcome them :) I hope that he can now work on defeating the aspects that cause him the most difficulties as I have and am doing, it’s a long hard journey to recovery but the first step is knowing what you are working with!

      Best wishes Sharon x

  18. Thank you for shedding some light on a frustrating behavior I’ve had to deal with from my undiagnosed textbook-case BPD mother. She would consistently re-invent and revise past conversations, especially on the topic of “what day/time will you come visit?” She NEVER heard or remembered what my brother or I actually answered, preferring instead to accuse us of not showing up on time (we’d SAY 6pm but she’d swear we said 4). I finally realized, after talking to a therapist, that she’d get so stressed and paranoid at the idea that we secretly didn’t WANT to see her at all, that any conversation about our next get-together would be stressful enough to trigger her dissociation, and she subsequently got the times wrong. Unfortunately, her constant accusations and rages became a self-fulfilling prophecy, and she’s pushed everyone away.

    • Sorry to hear your mom is suffering so much and as a result you are too, I hope you all manage to get the help you need to be happy, BPD is so hard to live with :(

  19. Thanks so much for sharing. For the last 18 months I have been a hermit, never leaving my house unless I have to. This also coincided with a diagnosis of Lupus, which in itself can cause mental instability, therefore has exacerbated my BPD symptoms. I have two children and that makes this “hiding” from the world much harder, which in turn causes me to turn even more inward. This is a vicious cycle and its comforting to know I am not alone in this. I have sought out support where I live but unfortunately there are no support groups that are free of charge in order for me to seek this solace.

    • How awful that you are unable to access support, this is not uncommon I have to pay for my therapy as there was no free support available for me either (I can’t really afford it, but needs must!) I hope you manage to find something to help you!

  20. Thank you for sharing your story. My 12 year old marriage to my BPD husband has been a living hell. Although he’s been clinically diagnosed twice by separate psychiatrists, he refuses to believe there is anything different about him. Maybe, in reading your blogs, he can see that he’s not alone in his diagnosis. I think it’s too late to help the marriage, but it might make him a bit more settled on his own.

    • Sorry to hear about your husband, it is a shame BPD has destroyed your marriage but I can understand how you could need to be free of this. Best wishes to you both for a better future!

  21. Hello,
    I did not yet got diagnosed for Bornerline but I came to the diagnosis by my self. i can find everything you said happening to me. I also lost my bf coz of it..he do not know about my borderline but this is what he siad today:we ended also coz of drama and lack of trust and crazy thoughts in your head that i can’t change.
    I had this abusive father and mother lefted me and didnt speak to me for 8 years.
    In every relationship I looked for this idealised love and when i did not got it I start to hate this person and start act abusive and terible. I allways make this scenarious in my head if my partner do something, like ..ahaa…I know why you said this and do that..it is coz of that and that…I ALLWAYS know what he is upt to..Like I allways want to predict his actions and I allways can know what he will do…just coz he dont really love me but just saying so….I am a mess…I am now in surch for good therapist to start work on this. I so hope it will help me. I so want to change. i dont want to live a life this way. I want to trust people and let them love me and love them back. I would so apretiate if I could talk about it with someone. and in a way I am releived that I know there is a help out there and this can be treated.

    • Thanks for sharing, I hope you do manage to find a good therapist and get some help, it is out there although it can be hard to find depending on where you live but when you find it it will make a huge difference and because you want to change and get better with time and support you will be able to. Best wishes for your journey :)

  22. Wow reading this felt as if my thoughts were being written down. I get better at times but it doesn’t stay that way. I wish I could wake up one day and have no negative thoughts about myself and the few close to me.

  23. Its the first time I enter to this blog, I was looking for information because we have a daughter recently diagnosed with BPD, she is only 15, we want the best for her, want to help her, and at this moment is something very difficult,she is receiving medical treatment, but how work with an adolescent with this is very hard,do you have information of any group for parents in Puerto Rico?I will really appreciate your help. We need strategies, the last thing that she present about the BPD was the dissociation around one week ago, this help to understand a little, thanks

    • Thanks for visiting, I am afraid I don’t know of any support specifically in Puerto Rico but maybe someone else reading this might? You may find the forums on http://www.bpdworld.org/ helpful as there may be someone there who knows of something local to you as it is a worldwide forum? :) Hope you manage to find some support. Sharon x

  24. Thanks for sharing this post to us! It is very helpful to us since we have a friend who is experiencing paranoid personality disorder symptoms and it really helps a lot here in your site. Thanks and keep posting.

  25. Pingback: When I am going… | Vacant Verbosities

  26. I went through a few years of agoraphobia years ago, until I pretty much had a breakdown and finally got on a 6-month waiting list for help from the local Community Mental Health Centre. I was diagnosed with BPD in 2005. I was 35 years old. I could have probably been diagnosed a couple of decades earlier. Everyone in my hometown was bullying me verbally. I am just finding my voice now to do something about my illness. Love your blog!

    • Hi Joyce, thank you for sharing, glad to hear you like my blog and are finding your voice to do something about your own BPD! I wish you all the best, the healing journey is hard. I’m well along the road but the end is still not in sight – some aspects I don’t think will ever leave me… but at least the worst are no under control so that I can live a normal(ish) life :)

  27. I decided to research my feelings and current issues and found this website right off. It feels great to understand what is actually happening and why. I was diagnosed with Borderline about 7 years ago. My world fell apart when I was diagnosed with Borderline because as soon as I researched it I felt deep in my core and knew it was exactly what was wrong with everything. I cried for about 24 hours, and then began trying to do something about it. I’ve been struggling through therapies and remissions ever since.There are definitely very bad days, and I really wish I had more control, which is why I tend to research. Anyway, thanks for writing this blog.

  28. Great article.
    I get very symptomatic under stress. I also dissociate and imagine people don’t like me or think that “I’m too much” or too needy.
    For example, this week I’m in an intense training program so I can change careers. (Im female baby boomer). I’m very passionate about the things I’m interested in and have been raising my hand in participation or to ask a question about the material.
    At one point, due to time constraints, the instructor “seemed” to ignore me in favor of selecting other students. I could feel myself losing awareness and became confused and believed there was something wrong with me. I have been working for over 40 years, have a huge social network, attend 12 step meetings because i have a co-occuring illness: mental health and addiction. I have 12 years clean, in therapy and see a psychiatrist regularly for med checks for complex PTSD as well as BPD traits.
    The really GOOD NEWS is that I no longer am a “prison of my own making” because I’m taking classes in Dialectal behavior therapy (DBT) invented by Marsha Linehan, a psychologist, who also suffers from BPD. These classes have saved my life in so many ways. I also take classes in a program called WRAP (Wellness Recovery Action Plan). I know it sounds like tons of emotional work but I accept and consider the horrendous cards that were dealt to me.
    The training I’m taking is to become a Certified Peer Specialist, which means i will be able to be there for people with the same challenges–and get paid to do it. There’s so much research being done now on the effects of childhood traumas. It accounts for alcohol and drug abuse, homelessness, incarceration, and suicide due to the inability to regulate our emotions. There’s tons of research out there.
    I am so exhausted from living such an unhappy life I’ll do whatever positive help out here that’s available. I’m happy to report that my episode today only lasted less than an hour which gave me the time to find your extremely honest and helpful blog. I now recognize that often times my feelings are distorted, created from a place of very real deep pain which happened when I was helpless. I’m so grateful i no longer am.

    • Thank you Ellie. It’s great to hear how well you are doing. DBT does sound really good, it’s such a shame I have not been able to access it, thankfully I have several books and have worked through some of the skills with my therapist (but a trained DBT therapist would be better still I’m sure!). Good luck with the training, those of us who have ‘survived’ these things can be such an inspiration to others suffering the same and hopefully evidence that it is possible to get better, and knowing that when a person says ‘I understand…’ they actually, genuinely do is so much more comforting than the feeling you get when someone says that and your mind is screaming ‘NO – you really don’t, and stop lying to me!’. Keep up the good work :)

  29. i read this on my phone on a sleepless night, worried about my (social) delusional thinking and whether i will ever be able to get rid of them, and came across this page. thank you so much for writing this. i’ve been recently diagnosed with bpd after over a year of thinking it was just depression and anxiety, and i keep wondering if i am malingering and just acting out, exaggerating, and behaving in certain ways just to make my problems more severe than they really are, and was only diagnosed with bpd because i was “trying” to fit the criteria. but i can relate so so much to your post that it (perhaps briefly) gave me relief that maybe i’m not just exaggerating or lying and truly have bpd.

    thank you!!!

  30. Thank you sooo much for sharing. I was married to a BP for 25 yrs. He still has no clue that this is his diagnosis. (I figured it out and 4 yrs of counseling with me and two children has verified this.) what you have shared here describes him exactly. Your feelings and explanations have helped me understand on a new level. Thank you again! And may God bless you with peace in your life. ❤️

  31. Hi. I am desperate for answers and so hope that you can help. Briefly, my wife suffers from BPD and on 23/4/14 she left our home suddenly with our two children. It was completely unexpected and not even her mental health worker (who she saw once a week) knew. There were signs of very strange behaviour over the Easter weekend, such as aggression and refusing to interact with me or our girls- it was like living with a different person. Having gone she did not have any contact with me until I found out where she was living. I went around on 18th May as she refused to answer letters from both me and my solicitor (to see our girls) but she refused to talk to me. The following day she went to court and accused me of serious sexual abuse against both girls and physical abuse against all three of them. My wife even went to the extreme of stating that she had to walk around with holes in her clothes as I refused to buy her clothes as well as stating that I wanted her to abort our youngest when 3 months pregnant. I was cleared by social services and the Police the following day without me even being interviewed or informed- my daughter did not give them any sign the claims were true. My wife had already spoken to Social Services before and never mentioned any of her later claims. Having been told the claims were not being pursued she has since claimed she witnessed me twice sexually abuse our eldest and that our eldest frequently talks about it- this is her third version since leaving. Also, she actually took our eldest to the GP on 19th May to be examined for sexual abuse(nothing found) so I am convinced she believes what she is stating- I have lots of evidence to disprove everything from witness statements right through to clothing and bank statements! The people who know us are amazed at what she is claiming and her behaviour.
    As she moved areas the mental health support has stopped as her current provider has not referred her to the new provider thus she has gone from 1 session a week to none in the past 8 weeks. I am trying to get this sorted but hit a wall of ‘patient confidentiality’.
    I believe that she is suffering from a delusional episode or psychotic break and wanted to ask for any advice and whether I am right in my belief of the cause of her behaviour (which is completely out of character). Thank you in advance and sorry it is such a long post.

    • Hi Matt, so sorry to hear what your wife is putting you through. Now that she is not getting her mental health support she is likely to only get worse, and yes it is possible she is having some kind of psychotic break. I’m glad you have a solicitor because I think you need some serious legal help in this situation. I’m not really sure what to suggest other than seeing if there is any way to get her previous mental health workers involved as it sounds like she is seriously ill and that is a risk to your children. Keep talking to your solicitor and ask him if he can make contact with the mental health workers. I wish you all the best. Good luck, sounds like you need it!

      • Thank you for replying. I received a social services report on Friday and I am amazed at how poor my wife’s CMHN is. I met with the CMHN in April (on my request as I have never been asked to be involved despite being in the best position to judge how my wife is doing) as I was concerned about my wife and we had a good chat- unfortunately none of this was included and comments made to me about being a good husband and marriage have been omitted in her very brief report summary! I feel that the CMHN has said what makes her life easy to shift any responsibility from her. Is it common that BPD is so misunderstood by both nurses and psychiatrists as I am amazed at the poor service my wife had received before and how little notice they seem to want to take now she has worsened and moved away? How can people with BPD expect to improve if the mental health professionals lack the vital knowledge- why would they not seek info from key members in a BPD’s life to get a rounded picture?!

      • Oh yes, very common. I was diagnosed by receiving a copy of the report sent to my GP and never contacted again. Eventually I found a private therapist because I wanted to get better but the NHS were useless and a lot of the stigma and discrimination around BPD stems from the very shoddy way in which we are treated by so-called mental health professionals failing to help us, shocking but true. Private treatment is the way to go, but affording it is another matter, I have gone without other things to pay for my treatment as it was that important to me, but not everyone would consider it more important than a night at the cinema or something… :(

      • As awful as it sounds I am glad that my experiences are widespread, although it just makes the situation so much worse and a sad indictment of our mental health services. I spoke to someone last week and said that if my wife suffered from manic depression or schizophrenia the help she received would be much greater and they would not let her live on her own with two small children. There seems to be so little understanding of BPD- the CMHN who dealt with my wife seems to have taken everything that my wife told her as truth without any recognition that my wife may be trying to shift responsibility and that this may have been linked to her BPD. I would pay whatever it takes to get my wife the help she needs but she cannot see it and is still in the mental state where it is all my fault, despite her claims already being disproved. When they told her this she made up more claims! I beleive that she will now start getting help after 10 weeks but I fear that it will not be good enough due to a lack of understanding. We are stuck in a viscious circle and I cannot see a way out to bring our family back together.

      • Oh yes, definitely widespread and the understanding of and help for BPD is appalling to say the least. I hope that she is fortunate and the help she is receives is actually beneficial, but as you say it’s not something to get your hopes up on from experience to date. I have everything crossed for you in any case and truly hope you get a good outcome, the sooner the better! x

  32. Hi, Sharon–do you have an email so that we could talk privately? you can contact me via colinalfreemen(at)yahoo(dot)com.

    I understand your feelings of isolation, and also your need to connect with people in the world despite your BPD and how it manifests itself. I especially liked your gutsy post where you broke through the bathroom door! Surprisingly, I admired your insight–but secretly suspected his motives in tearing off your blanket ( but I understand why he did it–and I am aware of how such data gets manipulated by state agencies who capitalize on our personal traumas for profit)etc.

    YOU DID THE RIGHT THING in that instance.

    AND–we actually know each other already, in a web way;-) I will explain if you write.

  33. I understand exactly. I am currently in the same type of cycle trying to stay in a social world but only want to disappear. My efforts seem to be failing at a faster rate as time passes. I too went for 2 years without barely leaving the house and my dad was the only person that came to my home or spoke to me on a non treatment provider.
    It is terrible because I can see and feel it happening which makes others pull further away because it’s not there problem. Which causes further withdrawal. Self fulfilling profecy? I truly just want to disappear.

    • Sorry to hear that, I hope you are getting help to get better? In the end you have to force yourself to get out and meet people even if it is the last thing you feel like doing, make it a routine, eventually it gets easier to do. Good luck!

      • I can’t imagine it getting easier. I live in very small town 5 miles out in the country alone. Some times I go over a week without touching another person and go to town maybe 2 times a week. Everyone knows everyone. I feel abandonded by a particular man because he lied to me and abandoned by another man because he just never came back even though he said he would. All this with a week. I don’t care about about things I used to. I’m getting rid of my chickens my garden is overgrown.
        Easier, I hope so. Going out in public I can’t do that yet and it may be a while. As one just told me go out and carry on your life the best you can. This after he tells me he lied about leaving what I thought was his ex girlfriend 2 years ago. He never left her.
        As for getting help, I’m not doing meds they don’t work and I’m not getting fatter than I am. Talk therapy seems like a waste of time I have done that several times over the years. I was court ordered several years ago to do meds/therapy. For 9 months. In the end I don’t believe it made a difference. I need to leave this place so no one sees me fail again is what I feel. What other help is there. Agoraphobia, ptsd, anxiety, major depression drug resistant, borderline personality. I just want to disappear. I am so ashamed about bad diagnosis which has such a stigma.
        I don’t know what help there is because I didn’t think there was anything that did help. Fill me in. Please. Thank you .

      • Sorry it is so hard for you. For me reading everything I could helped a lot and wanting to get better so I worked hard to defeat my demons. Talk therapy helps if you can find the right person for you, I found the right person for me it may take some searching and sessions with the wrong people before you find the rght one to help you work on getting better. I’ve never had any meds and agree I don’t think they really help, for most people at least, I guess it depends on the symptoms and getting the right meds for the right problem…

      • Thank you for taking time out of your world to listen . The most frustrating part for me is knowing that I am starting to cut myself off from others and try not to but everything I do makes me want to withdrawal further. Negative reinforcement , real or imagined, feels like it is all encompassing no matter how hard I try to put happy spin on my interactions. Agoraphobia diagnosis coupled with anxiety and bpd and major depression non responsive to meds makes me tired and feel very stuck. Again I truly appreciate your comments. I will keep trying to stay in this reality what ever that may be.
        Sheryl

Leave a Reply

