img061a

Mental Health Monday – Christmas with the Cluster B Personality Disorders


Hope you all had a lovely Christmas Day!?

While you wallow in the aftermath of the festivities before the next round kicks in for New Year I thought I would give you a bit of a laugh at my expense with another mini comic strip sharing some of my latest realisations about my BPD and some related Cluster B Personality Disorders…

It all  started with a conversation in therapy about how my parents were not in the least bit pushy, to the point where encouragement was definitely lacking. This wove round to how I have these elements of my own personality that guide/push/pull me via the whirlpool of BPD, the main two characters being my ‘Critical Parent’ and my ‘Free Child’ (there are others but we’ll get to them later). These characters come from Transactional Analysis. Here you can see how they use me to play tug’o’war in their own battle for superiority.

From the discussion it was clearly identified that my critical parent is very narcissistic; grandiose,egotistical self-absorbed and selfish – all this based on how I describe the critical parent as being the voice of me not being ‘good enough’ in her eyes and always being the ‘look at me, look what I can do – don’t you wish you were as good as me’ spiteful, self-centred bitch in my life. I was fascinated to the point that when I got home I decided to read more about narcissism and found that I would personally say that my critical parent has Narcissistic Personality Disorder

Later that evening I was describing this to my fiancé and he said so what’s with the Free Child then? and I joked, “Well, if the critical parent is a narcissist then the free child is histrionic” “What’s that?” he replied, and without looking it up for more detail (as we were in bed away from the computers) I said “I’ll have to check the details but I think it’s basically the slutty, seductive side of me – after all free child only comes out to play when I’m in my impulsive, manic phases”. When I checked the definition for Histrionic Personality Disorder I was pretty close to the mark…

So, with these two minxes sitting on my shoulders we make up 3 out of the 4 Cluster B Personality Disorders – I just feel thankful that there isn’t (or at least not yet discovered) a representative of the 4th disorder (Antisocial Personality Disorder) to make things even worse – frack knows it’s bad enough already!! can you imagine Christmas with the Cluster B’s?…

So there we have it, My Cluster B Personality Disorder Comic Strip. Hope it has given you a giggle! :)

Have you got a suggestion for my next comic adventure with BPD?

Why not leave an idea in the comments below – your’s may feature in the next instalment! :)

8 comments on “Mental Health Monday – Christmas with the Cluster B Personality Disorders

  1. Good morning, Sharon. I want to thank you for your work. I am the dad of a family who took in a young person who was later diagnosed with BPD. She was pretty much “with” us (either living in our home with her parents’ permission, or, later, depending on us every day in other ways) for two years. The pain she was going through in her early high school years just broke both my heart and my wife’s. Then she distanced herself from us and later acted out destructively toward us before distancing herself again… we see her rarely now… but we still care.

    I say all of this to encourage you in your work. Understanding BPD allows me to keep caring and praying. She, like you, has been intelligent and full of insight. I say “has been” because we just don’t see her anymore and she doesn’t respond when we send her encouraging notes. But, in any case, understanding this disability lets me be empathetic instead of angry. Your last post about “boredom” for example was so much on the mark from what I remember when she was connected with us. I would love to refer her to your work but have no idea how to do that without coming off as a “know it all.” Perhaps someday she will find you on her own.

    I can see “Sandy” in what you write here today and every day. Thanks again for helping people “get it.” You have a gift!

    • Hi Bob,

      Thanks for your comment, we ‘met’ before when I wrote my guest post for MentallyHealth.info :)

      Maybe you could let Sandy know (in one of your notes) that due to caring about her and wanting to understand what she is going through you read my blogs and thought she might be interested in what you had been reading, then it’s in her hands if she decides to have a look or not but it is another way of letting her know that you haven’t given up on her :)

  2. I definately have the narcissistic side but I don’t have the flirty one much. Mine is more the narcissist and the self hater! But very well explained. It’s odd how one minute we can love ourselves and the next we feel like the dirt on someone’s shoe. Bloody awful! x

  3. Pingback: ‘i must be perfect to be accepted’ by alshepmcr « underground

Leave a Reply

