It’s been too long…


…since my last post!! So to summarise what has been happening over the last… almost a month, let’s see… starting with the fun stuff…

Pleasure: Amongst other things I have been to see Circus of Horrors at the Alexandra Theatre, Holiday on Ice at the NEC, seen The Crazies at the Cinema, had a few nights out with my pals (including dressing up as a cheerleader, which was a very popular sight! lol), visited some friends – one of whom is due to give birth any day now, spent the day at Birmingham Science Museum (Think Tank) for an OU open day with some hands on Science Experiments (great fun!) and thrown a 16th birthday party – which involved having 15 teenagers in my home (with only me as supervision) and surprisingly they were amazingly well behaved and other than a bit of a mess from party poppers there was NO damage!! phew (I am very lucky!!). They also thoroughly enjoyed playing pass the parcel and listening to me sing (OMG, could you ask for a tougher audience? Simon Cowell has nothing on teenagers) yet they were very impressed! 🙂 coming up for the rest of this month – amongst other things: PlanetRock, 90’s Weekend in Minehead, School reunion and my Ann Summers Party

Study’s: So my total number of courses in progress at the moment now stands at 8! including Accountancy, Science, Business and Quality Training… I have 4 assignments due in before the end of April and an Exam on Monday. I have completed 1 and 3/4 of the assignments, so just 2 and 1/4 to go!! I have 6 more single/couple of day(s) training courses days booked before the end of the month and two more full courses booked to start as my current ones end!

Business: I have decided on a name for my company and purchased the domain names so I can set up my website. My market research is going well, I have established the need for my business, identified my competitors and target market, I just need a bit more work on the costings so I can write everything up in my business plan. However, I have an added bonus in that, following a Dragon’s Den style interview – during which I had 10 minutes to do a presentation (that basically required a full business plan!) and then a panel of six asking me questions about my business idea; I have now been offered a place on Birmingham University’s Graduate programme ‘BSEEN’ which will provide me with an incubator space, training, support and mentors to help me establish the business to make its chances of success even greater!! I have been to York and Milton Keynes for business related training, attended the Procurex National Exhibition at the NEC to find out more about bidding for tenders for Public sector contracts (next is a training session to learn to write them!), I have 5 more training/networking/meetings booked before the end of the month and need to start writing my first Quality Management manual for my first client!!

Charity: The Link-Upp AGM was well attended at the luxurious Mal Maison. Details of the Parenting Awards Winners should be up on the website soon! As Chair of Trustees I am looking at expanding the use of Social Media for the growth and income of the Charity, we already have a Facebook group and a Twitter account (although posts are very few at the moment, I hope this will improve once the others get the hang of it!). using my Quality Management knowledge I plan to revisit the PQASSO Quality Standard that I had started to implement previously in my role as Vice-chair of the Steering Group – as there is now the opportunity for this to be formally assessed to gain certification to the Standard! we need to look at securing our funding, so I will be part of a team writing bids to charitable foundations etc, and writing a new business plan for the next 3 years. I will be writing another blog shortly on the roles of trustees and steering group members for those who might be interested in doing some charitable work (It’s not as hard work as I make it sound, only a few people do a lot, most just do what they can when they can, often just a couple of hours a month to attend the steering group planning meetings!). The steering group will continue with their excellent work organising the member activities, events and newsletter. but most importantly (well, most fun!) I am looking forward to the annual members meal next week! 🙂

So what else… When I have a bit of time (on train journeys or waiting around at places) I am reading ( in addition to my course books and ISO 9000 Standards documents) the ‘E-myth revisited’ – some excellent tips on making a success of your business, which I have already identified where a few businesses I know are doing things wrong so i am hoping not to make the same mistakes with mine… as I’ve quoted before: ‘failing to plan is planning to fail’!) and ‘Paganism, An Introduction to earth-centered religions’, writing some useful/fun blogs (charity work, business, short stories and anything else that may be interesting/useful) and just normal life stuff!! lol

Let’s see how I get on with all this! and when I do my next ‘general’ update I can measure if I have achieved my targets for the end of March…

