Self-discipline – A blessing or curse?


I have been told that I am too hard on myself, that my attitude to self discipline is scary, even dangerous.  I’m not sure what to make of that but I do think we need to be hard on ourselves, we can’t spend our lives relying on other people to do it for us.

Clearly there are more than enough people always ready to tell us what we did wrong, kick us when we are down and some people just seem to spend their lives trying to make other peoples lives difficult (from that point of view I can see how if we don’t give ourselves a break who else will?) many would rather just twist that knife a little deeper and rejoice we when ask “is my back hurting your knife? would you like to give it a twist so you can get it in deeper?”

So, yes we need to be the ones to give ourselves a ‘break’, allow ourselves to take time out to enjoy life once in a while, kick-back and have some fun.

But is self-discipline a bad thing?

The way I see it is that strong self-discipline is a beneficial motivator, without it jobs wouldn’t be done, bills wouldn’t be paid we would probably all laze around day-in day-out dossing on facebook, watching TV or whichever ‘no effort’, time-wasting, procrastinating activities we care to indulge in. These things are fine in moderation but you need to be able to say to yourself ‘enough is enough’ and get your ass in gear to do something worthwhile with your time!

So how much self-discipline is too much? here is where it would appear I have a problem, I don’t know. All I know is personally I don’t think I am too hard on myself, I get done what needs doing plus extras, yet I have time to enjoy myself too so surely I am getting the balance right!? Ok, so I do always need to ‘do more’, I can’t abide ‘doing nothing’. Whilst others may be happy to sit around and do nothing requiring more effort than changing channel with the remote control for hours on end I rarely do such things, and on the occasions I do sit down and watch a film or TV show its not long before I’m getting bored (no matter how good the show!) and need to do something more proactive, if you’ve read my other blogs you will know I have numerous activities/hobbies/jobs I enjoy that keep me busy and yes I am hard on myself, always striving to achieve the next/better thing but these are good things surely!?

So am I too hard on myself? and if so is that really ‘dangerous’? What do you think?
😉

3 comments on “Self-discipline – A blessing or curse?

  1. I don’t think you’re too hard on yourself. If you are getting what you need to be done and still having fun–balancing your priorities– then you’re fine 🙂 Keep staying busy and doing what pleases YOU.

    • Thanks, its reassuring to hear people say that! rather than the ‘it’s scary/dangerous’ comment mentioned in the blog, that one got me worried! lol 🙂 x

  2. Your writing is without a doubt really quite intoxicating. You sure have got a technique of making words alive. Have you thought about professional writing? I’ve already been a compensated author for about 3 months now, and earn $400 a day publishing testimonials at my personal blog, commenting on blogs, and also writing articles. Sign up right here if you happen to be curious.

Comments are closed.