*Trigger* – Thinking about self-harm


self harm

self harm (Photo credit: the|G|™)

Self-harm is something of a taboo subject. If you’ve never suffered, or had the urge to do it the only thing you think is that people who do are stupid, attention seeking or a myriad of other insulting, ignorant notions that may come to mind.

Well, I’m here to tell you it’s not as clear cut (pun intended) as you might think. There are many forms of self harm, but the one I’m talking about today is the one that first comes to most people’s minds when they hear the words ‘self harm’ – Cutting.

I’m going to try to give you at little glimpse into my mind… thoughts of self-harm don’t always occur in this manner, this is just one example of how it ‘can’ be…

I don’t even know for sure why the thoughts began, maybe it was tension with the impending return to work, I don’t know but it began like this…

At first there would just be a fleeting, passing notion.  A brief voice in my head that was saying things like ‘relief, blade, sharp, cut, blood, …’ nothing comprehensive, no full sentences, just single words.  The words would be followed by a feeling, a desire – warmth, comfort, release.

As the days passed these notions became more fluid, ideas started to form. What to use? When to do it? How to hide it? Just opening the knife drawer in the kitchen would make me smile. Yet at the same time anger was building, anger at myself for these thoughts, unfortunately though this anger inflames the urges – the idea of cutting becomes a form of punishment, punishment for thinking of cutting – how twisted is this? I think of cutting, think how wrong it will be to cut, then think of cutting more to punish myself for thinking of it in the first place – talk about vicious circles!?

I know I can’t cut in obvious, visible places without being caught, it’s summer – no long sleeves to hide the slices on my arms.  I’m not an attention seeking cutter, I hide what I do. It’s only when I’ve lost control completely that people get to see what I do as thoughts of secrecy have vanished by then.

I come up with ideas to cover up what I intend to do as ‘accidents’ –  ‘I fell’, ‘I caught my arm on a sharp edge’ anything, everything to hide the truth – it was a deliberate cut, for no reason more than I wanted to, needed to. Relief, punishment, release, escape…

Then a ‘real’ trigger, an action that provokes my BPD.  Frustrated and needing release so badly I spill out my thoughts in a text not to be sent, words not to be published – too private, too intense, too personal to share, even though sharing will ease the burden, these are not words others should read.  Courageously through my tears, fear, anger, sadness and self-disgust I do share though, with one person – my fiancee.  I show him what I have written, tell him about the thoughts I’ve been having, show him that somehow I have managed ‘not’ to act on these thoughts.  What I wrote begins like this “I have to write this down in the hope that spilling the words will provide some relief rather than spilling more blood – my own…” I cannot share most of the rest of the content, other than it goes on about my devil and my angel – the BPD voices that torment me, screaming at me, arguing the rights and wrongs, good and bad. “We are stronger than BPD, together we will defeat it! yes, its hard, draining, exhausting, a daily roller coaster ride. Spinning, spinning, faster, harder… slam the brakes on before you crash.”

He holds me as I cry, wishing I could die, wishing the pain would stop, needing to hurt myself to be able to ‘feel’ because even though I am clearly ‘feeling’ a hell of a lot, I don’t actually believe I am ‘feeling’, emotions are a haze, what is ‘feeling’ anyway?

He praises me for sharing, this is a big step for me.  Still not getting any help for my BPD, still unwell, no idea how to manage my condition, how to cope, what to do with these ‘thoughts’ but I’ve done what is probably the best thing I could do not knowing any better – I’ve told someone, before I’ve done anything.  I tell him I’m scared of losing control and ‘doing it anyway’.  I tell him the thoughts grow and develop, like a miraculous ‘cure’ for all that I’m suffering.

I cry myself to sleep while he holds me still. For today at least we’ve beaten the desire, tomorrow is another day. I don’t know if the thoughts will be there or if we have done enough to keep them at bay for a while. One step at a time, one day at a time. So long as I can be strong enough to share, hopefully it will be enough to stop the urges from winning… time will tell.

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post why not retweet this blog to your followers for me? Share a link on your facebook page? or promote this blog wherever you can (without spamming!!!)

Use this link to share this post – http://wp.me/pLoi4-eY

Why not subscribe to my blog so you can be amongst the first to view new posts as they appear!?  To do this just click on the ‘keep me informed’ button on the left hand side of the page and enter your email address; or click ‘notify me’ at the bottom of this article when you leave a comment! 😀

And feel free to contact me on twitter, facebook or email – crystalbear96@hotmail.com if you have any questions, would like to write a guest blog for my site, have a suggestion about something you would like to see me blog about or would like me to write a guest blog for your blog/website 🙂

22 comments on “*Trigger* – Thinking about self-harm

  1. Nicely put, Sharon. I’ve never really understood the need to “cut”, but I know from reading this it’s more of a compulsion. To that end, being a borderline alcoholic as I’ve recently admitted, I think it’s fair to say that the concept of self harm should really be extended to any method of self-destruction, be it by knife, bottle, pill or needle. There’s no real difference between you reaching your trigger point and reaching out into darkness your way than their is my lapses into repulsive drunken stupours.

    Still, I’m with Scroobious Pip’s powerful Magician’s Assisant lyrics all the way… Only nowadays I apply it to me, too.

    • Thanks Ed.

      there are so many forms of self-harm even beyond those you mention – food, sleep, partying, spending, sex… the list just goes on, most people don’t realise how extensive self-harm can be!

      I knew there was something else I wanted to include with this post – the link to the Scroobious Pip youtube video! I’ll have to add it in!

  2. Cutting to me (which I’ve only done twice, but I’ve also harmed myself in other ways) is a way for me to express my inner turmoil, the pain that is strangling me to death that the rest of the world can’t see (and will never be able to understand).

  3. ALL the women in my DBT group were “cutters” except me. I was also the oldest at 57. They were in their mid-20’s to mid-30’s w/the 2nd to the oldest being about 40. They asked me if I was a “cutter” & I told them it hadn’t “been invented yet” so I did all the “old fashioned” self-destructive coping skills mentioned above–drinking too much, eating too much, suicide attempts, acting in rash behaviors, etc.

  4. Pingback: Crawling back from the pit… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  5. Pingback: Micro Story… Not for the Feint-hearted… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  6. Pingback: Poem – My BPD Existence « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  7. Pingback: Manipulative or mentally ill, or both – Guest Blog by Steve « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  8. Pingback: Returning to work after a BPD crisis – Update « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  9. Pingback: Realising the limits of your own capability – BPD wins again « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  10. Pingback: What is Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD)? | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  11. Pingback: What is Self-harm? 10 common methods | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  12. Pingback: ROW80 – Introducing the Blogger of the Month Award | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  13. When I was in my DBT group (all women at least 20 years younger than I; I’m 58!), they asked me if I was a “cutter” (They ALL were “cutters” as well as practicing other destructive behaviors such as drug & alcohol abuse, eating disorders, etc.).

    I told them cutting hadn’t been invented yet when I got ill (1st suicide attempt at 15) & that I did “old-fashioned” destructive coping techniques like abusing alcohol & food! They laughed, but I learned how STRONG the impulse to cut is when one young lady was told by her pdoc that if she did not refrain from cutting she would be involuntarily committed to the mental hospital. She really did not want to go back into the hospital, but she could not stop cutting & it was so severe that she stabbed herself in the stomach AFTER suffering a miscarriage.

    And the thing is she was a loving mother of two, a wife–“appeared” to be functioning well, but she could not stop that behavior despite the threat of being involuntarily committed to the mental ward & she was…

Comments are closed.