Interview – The Life of a General Radiographer


X-ray

Image via Wikipedia

This is the third in a series of Interviews I am doing.

Today’s career is Radiographer.  Daniel, 25,  is one of my colleagues in the X-ray department at a local Hospital, here he gives us his perspective on what it is like working in the department…

Q. How did you first get involved in radiography and why?

A. I went to Exeter Uni to study Medical Imaging and it was basically an apprenticeship for becoming a radiographer. Most who qualify will go straight into Radiography, usually within the NHS. I chose Radiography because the course offered both practical learning and theory, which I could use when I qualified. I have always liked to be hands on, but wanted to learn more physics, biology etc and the chance to work on different hospital sites was appealing. This course did that.

Q. What is the most challenging thing about your work?

A. Time management is hard but crucial part of my job, as you often work alone through unsocial hours. There are times when many people need your services at the same time!

My hearing difficulties would always reach some barriers, such as the telephone however meausures are in place to try and help with this, such as amplified phones, which is very popular at work with fellow colleagues! The thing is to try and bring any difficulties I have and make the workplace aware of them, so that I am protected and adjustments can be put in place. It’s a learning curve on both sides.

Q. Can you tell us about any interesting people you’ve met through your work?

A. This job involves a huge amount of patient contact and communication skills.  This has to be applied to a wide range of ethic and social backgrounds and disabled people. Our primary focus is patient care, and all people are interesting! You never know what comes through the door!

Q. What is your most favourite thing about your work?

A. Variation of skills I put into practice and areas that I work in. As a radiographer, services from x-ray are required in different parts of the hospital such as theatre work. You’re never in one place all the time.

Q.  And the least?

A. Lots of paperwork to fill in!

Q. If you hadn’t chosen this career what would you like to do?

A. Either a photographer or a teacher I guess!

Q. What tips would you give to someone looking to get into your career?

A. Have natural patient communication skills and like a bit of physics practice at Uni! For others out there with hearing difficulties or other disabilities, don’t let these be a barrier to achieving your dreams –  there is help available and the key is making other people aware that you have diffculties and help is at hand.

Q. Is there anything else you would like to share about your career choice that you haven’t already mentioned?

A. Must like wearing hospital uniform.

And now for the ‘fun’ questions…

Q. What do you do when you aren’t working?

A. I’m a keen swimmer and cycle when weather is good!

Q. What did you have for breakfast?

A. Rice Crispies

Q. Who would win a fight between pirates and ninjas?

A. Pirates

Q. If you were a tree what tree would you be?

A. Pear tree, I like pear cider

Q. What is the last book you read?

A. Richard Branson’s auto-biography

Q. What is your favourite song at the moment?

A. M people!

If you have an interesting career you would like to share, drop me a line (crystalbear96@hotmail.com) and I’ll sort out an interview slot for you! 🙂

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post why not retweet this blog to your followers for me? Share a link on your facebook page? or promote this blog wherever you can (without spamming!!!)

Use this link to share this post – http://wp.me/pLoi4-hA

Why not subscribe to my blog so you can be amongst the first to view new posts as they appear!?  To do this just click on the ‘keep me informed’ button on the left hand side of the page and enter your email address; or click ‘notify me’ at the bottom of this article when you leave a comment! 😀

And feel free to contact me on twitter, facebook or email – crystalbear96@hotmail.com if you have any questions, would like to write a guest blog for my site, have a suggestion about something you would like to see me blog about or would like me to write a guest blog for your blog/website 🙂

