Interview – The Life of a Police Community Support Officer (PCSO)


A PCSO on duty with two police constables. Not...

Image via Wikipedia

Finally my interviews get round to my best friend – Lindsay, 34.  Lindsay has been a PCSO (Police Community Support Officer) for just over 2 years…

Q. How did you first get involved in your career and why?

A. It was something I always wanted to do but chose not to do it when I was younger because of my daughter so I waited till she was old enough to be left alone because of the shift patterns. So when she was old enough I decided to apply. I wanted to do this career because there is so much room for progression and movement, you aren’t confined to one role, there are lots of different departments you could work in and lots of training options.

Q. What did you do before you were a PCSO?

A. I worked for ANC/Fedex courier company for 12 years, my role there was a bit of everything, starting as an office junior and working up to customer services team leader and trebling my wages.

Q. What is the most challenging thing about your work?

A. Every day can be challenging as you meet lots of different people from different backgrounds, dealing with the general public face to face.

Q. Can you tell us about any interesting people you’ve met through your work?

A. Depends what you define as interesting. Colleagues and the public are all interesting in different ways, you don’t know what to expect as you meet so many people from different walks of life and until you talk to them you don’t realise how interesting they are.

Q. What do you do when you aren’t working?

A. I chill out or go to the pub and see my family and friends

Q. What is your most favourite thing about your work?

A. My kit, hehe. Even though it can be a pain in the ass carrying it around all day. And I suppose in a way, because of the kit you are recognised straight away as a person of… not sure authority is the right word but people know they can come to you. And parents tell their children that they can come to us, and they can feel safe.

Q. And the least?

A. Paperwork can be a bit of a mission at times, you have to be careful to get everything ‘right’

Q. If you hadn’t chosen this career what would you like to do?

A. If I hadn’t done this career and had my daughter I probably would have become an Air Hostess (which we both wanted to do together when we were at school, lol)

Q. What tips would you give to someone looking to get into your career?

A. It’s tough, because you are assessed as an individual and how you deal with certain situations, so it’s down to you. If you aren’t diverse you won’t get in, being a quiet, sit in the corner, never speak up kind of person you wouldn’t fit in, you need to be confident to speak to people.

Q. Is there anything else you would like to share about your career choice that you haven’t already mentioned?

A. Just that it’s a good career to have, you can stay in this job for 30 years or more (depending how old you are when join), it is a true career for life.

The Fun Questions

Q. What did you have for breakfast?
A. Hehe, a packet of chicken flavour crisps

Q. Who would win a fight between pirates and ninjas?
A. Hmmm, pirates, they are more sneaky whereas ninjas get in your face

Q. If you were a tree what tree would you be?
A. Horse-chestnut tree – the one’s that produce conkers, cause of the conkers lol

Q. What is the last book you read?
A. Bitten by Kelley Armstong – I haven’t finished it yet!

Q. Which of my blog posts is your favourite and why?
A. It was one of the first blogs you wrote, back when you were writing on Myspace lol. It was about you and your family and all the things you have had to cope with over the years.

Q. What is your favourite song at the moment?
A. Katy Perry – TGIF

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

One comment on “Interview – The Life of a Police Community Support Officer (PCSO)

  1. Pingback: Interview – From Chocoholic to Chocolate business… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.