That song was written for me…


Given my love of music (many different kinds) I’m surprised I havent written about it before. Everyone will hear song once in a while and think ‘That song was written for/about me’ the lyrics will really resonate with you, they explain how you think, how you feel, something you love, hate. you know what I mean right?

For me this goes to a whole other level, I can ‘relate’ to nearly every song I hear/like, there is always a line, chorus or even the whole song that I just feel if I was any good at songwriting I should have written that myself. Sometimes these are good, positive things, other times they represent things that are not so good. But all the time there is something about the song that just makes me ‘feel’ something, I connect with it.

So, I thought it would be interesting to share some of these lyrics and songs that ‘explain’ who I am, the good, the bad and the naughty. I’m choosing just two recent songs for each of the three categories or I could be here forever! lol I think they give an insight into parts of me that may otherwise go unnoticed in every day life, my own words and actions. Here goes…

The Good 

Strangely (or not) songs that demonstrate my good side were the hardest to decide upon… (guess I just don’t think there’s much good about me, typical BPD, lol)

When we Collide – Matt Cardle

I know this one could come across wrong, but it demonstrates  how I’m willing to ‘take a few knocks’ to be with someone special, not that I’m open to being physically abused!

Lyrics:

“I’ll take a bruise, I know you’re worth it, when you hit me hit me hard”

 
Grenade – Bruno Mars

I’m the kind of person that will do ‘anything’ to help others, especially if they are important to me, I think these lyrics show this…

Lyrics

“I’d catch a grenade for ya, throw my hand on the blade for ya, I’d jump in front of a train for ya, you know I’d do anything for ya, see I would go through all this pain, take a bullet straight through my brain, yes I would die for you baby…”

 

The Bad

Love the way you lie – Eminem featuring Rhianna 

I always recall my self-harm issues and my twisted sense of ‘liking the way it hurts when I listen to this one…

Lyrics:

“Just gonna stand there, And watch me burn, But that’s alright , Because I like , The way it hurts”

 
Jessie J – Nobody’s Perfect

The whole of this song speaks volumes about by own ‘guilty’ feelings, but this section in particular says the main thing that brings a tear to my eyes…

Lyrics:

“But I never meant to hurt you, I know it’s time that I learnt to, Treat the people I love like I wanna be loved, This is a lesson learnt , I hate that I let you down and I feel so bad about it…”

 

The Naughty

Give Me Everything – Pitbull featuring Ne-yo
This song has lyrics that demonstrate the flirtatious, promiscuous side of me

Lyrics:

“but I might drink a little bit more than I should tonight, and I might take you home with me if I could tonight, and I think you should let me cause I look good tonight, and we might not get tomorrow… lets do it tonight”

 
Last Friday Night – Katy Perry 

Another one that reveals my naughty nature, my fiancée hates that I love this song as he see’s it as a bad influence, lol. My favourite lines are:

Lyrics:

“Pictures of last night ended up online, I’m screwed, Oh well…”

“Last Friday night, Yeah we danced on tabletops, And we took too many shots, Think we kissed but I forgot…”

“Always say we’re gonna stop-op…This Friday night…Do it all again”

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

11 comments on “That song was written for me…

  1. Pingback: Blog Round-Up – The 5 most popular posts in September « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  2. Pingback: More songs that have meaning to me… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  3. Pingback: Songs that are Guilty Pleasures « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.