ROW80 Check-in Number 3


Thank you to everyone for your comments, support and encouragement at my last check-in. I think my Sunday check-in’s have a high chance of always being more exciting and positive than my Wednesday check-in’s. The reason for this is that the start of the week always sees a lot of my time taken up with none writing duties, then with all my other tasks out of the way I can allow more time for writing during the second half of the week.

Here is my check-in info…

The Goals –

  • To write at least 3 blog posts each week (although 5 would be better to meet my other blogging requirements… but I do get guest bloggers and interviews at times that can fill any gaps….)
  • To write at least 750 words per month towards my works in progress (I am writing my life story and also a fiction novel  and a tinkering with a few other bits but haven’t been putting in enough effort for any of them – need to crack down and this challenge will help me do that!)

What I have done to meet them –

  • I have written 2 guest posts for other blogs and been out on a ‘research’ day. Okay, so it was actually just a fun day out, but it gave me a blog post – which I wrote last night, I just have a bit of editing and some photos to upload then 1 of my 3 posts for my own blog is complete, leaving 2 to write before next check-in to meet my weekly target – I think I can manage that somehow… lol I also have some more guest stuff to write, which I think I will also manage to get done easily 🙂
  • I haven’t done any work on this target yet. But as I always seem to mention my ‘other’ writing requirement in this section, my assignments, I am going to update my goals slightly with something about my studies, so that if I do a lot for both this part of the update isn’t a muddle of the two! As I completed my CMA (Computer marked assignment) for my photography course and spent a lot of time taking photos for the course as well…

So, to update my goals and give more room for focussing on my WIP here is my additional goal from this point forward –

  • To complete the weekly study requirements for both of my Open University courses – the requirements vary each week so I can’t include them all in the overall goal, but at each check-in I can describe what I needed to do, and if I managed to do it 🙂

Another check-in bite’s the dust, not quite so much excitement this time, but progress all the same! Catch you at the next one 😀

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

22 comments on “ROW80 Check-in Number 3

  1. well done you – and research days even if fun or maybe esp. if they are fun very valid:) OU courses are very demanding so well done for managing both – all the best for this week

    • Thanks Alberta, that’s what I was hoping, that research is a valid use of time! lol 😉 Only just getting into these OU courses after a break from them since completing my first degree, but looking forward to knuckling down some more now 🙂

  2. You aren’t alone, my Wednesday updates tend to be fairly thin as well for the same reasons. Writing time tends to increase near & during the weekends (something to do with the evil day job).

    Good goals and all the best for the rest of the week 🙂

  3. Yeah, I’m with you on Wednesday posts not being as exciting as Sunday posts. Sometimes you need the weekend to “catch up”. And real life does seem to get in the way at the beginning of the week. I think so long as we realize that, you can play to your strengths and plan accordingly. Also, research days are totally necessary sometimes :).

    Have a great week!

  4. Another ROW80er here. I’ve just started to read your blog–and I can’t wait to read more.

    There’s a bit of the opposite problem here–my Sunday check-ins are so dismal (not a single creative thing done between Friday and Sunday!), I’ve decided not to do them at all. Perhaps I should rethink that–Sunday check-ins might encourage me to think about how I can move forward in small ways amid family obligations.

    I like how you’ve expanded your goals to include your coursework. It’s vitally important to get it done, but the time to do it can be so elusive. I can’t wait to see more photographs!

    Above all–good luck!

    • Hi Tracy, thank you so much for the support and encouragement – I agree doing the Sunday posts even if nothing achieved can help give you a push to have something better to say for the Wednesday posts (or vice versa in my case!) I’m just playing with some recent photos to include a photo blog next week – so keep an eye out for that one! 😀

  5. Well done on keeping track of your goals. I think it’s really cool that you’re working on photography, too. Good luck to you with your courses. Which ones are you taking?

  6. I decided to check in only on Sundays. For me it’s a better option but it looks like most of the row80 participants prefers both days. I also adjusted a couple of my goals after the first week struggle. Now it should be much better all together.

    Good luck! I’m cheering for you 🙂

    • Thanks Angela, and thanks for the tweet too! Once a week would be nice to be able to just show how well I have done, but the mid-week check-in gives me a bit of a kick too if I’m not doing too well! lol

  7. I thought I would like check-ins on Wednesdays and dislike them on Sundays since my Sat and Sun are non-writing day (only family stuff), but I’m not sure which day I prefer yet …
    I’ll let you know when I figure it out 😉

    Have a nice week (and weekend)!

  8. Howdy! Dropping in from ROW80. Everybody is so different in regards to how and when they check in. Thankfully there is twitter and facebook for quicky checkin’s. For me it just depends on what kind of mood I’m in whether wednesday will be long or short. Sunday’s are always long since talk about what reading and going on in life for Sunday Salon. Good luck with your classes. They sound like fun.

  9. Pingback: ROW80 Fourth check-in! « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  10. Pingback: ROW80 Fifth check-in! « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  11. Pingback: ROW80 checking in for the 6th time! whoot! | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  12. Pingback: ROW80 Checking in for the 7th time :) | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  13. Pingback: ROW80 8th Check-in – One month down!! | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  14. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – Over Halfway there… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.