ROW80 9th check-in


This may come as a huge shock, especially when you read how much of my goals I’ve managed to achieve, but this time I have been really struggling….

After a great weekend, including a brilliant Sunday check-in, passing 5000 hits on my blog in a single month, a lovely community Halloween party in our street and a great start on my weekly goals n Monday, Tuesday came as a massive downer…

On Monday amongst the many things I got done I had my first go at my new goal (number 12) to get some exercise but spending just 30 minutes on the Wi fit each morning. I did my 30 minutes, pleased to discover that I still only weigh 8 1/2 stone (54kg) since I last went on the console about a year ago. I enjoyed my gentle work out, but after my calves were feeling a bit tight. I ignored it as I’m used to having this issue after exercise, even though it is part of the reason I had to stop previous exercise.

But, on Tuesday morning I could barely walk, my calves were like springs coiled so tight they were ready to snap, in addition my arms ached as though I had been carrying double my body weight on the end of each and every joint in my body felt strained as if I had been put on ‘The Rack’ and stretched. In other words, I spent the day in agony from my neck to my toes. The reason – that small amount of exercise (taken gently with proper warming up and cooling down) has clearly aggravated my ongoing (exercise preventing) condition -Hypermobility. I won’t go into detail here as I’m planning a separate post about the condition, but basically it is a condition whereby I am hyper flexible, but it causes a lot of joint pain and problems.

So, Tuesday I was feeling very depressed and de-motivated due to the pain and discomfort. Just going back to bed would have been nice but I couldn’t sit/lie or stand comfortably at all in any position for any amount of time. In some ways I hate this condition more than my BPD even though I have barely mentioned it before on my blog – I am almost more ashamed of this condition as it prevents me doing so much more than BPD does 😦

Anyway, enough of the self-pity, it’s bad enough that I feel that if I were an animal they would have put me down by now for being lame as well as mentally ill, but what I hate more is complaining about it – but here I am doing just that (this is why you shouldn’t write when you are upset! you just end up whingeing and sounding all attention-seeking!! grrrr)

On with the goals…

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts – I’ve completed one and the review of Ben Elton’s Blind Faith (finally!) and I’m half way through another, but I have plenty more ideas including Hypermobility to get written down, I just need to feel comfortable enough sitting down for a while to get them done!
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP – I’ve just put 11 words down as a note of something I want to include, but will be doing the word count in the 2nd half of this week
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions – I got that Sociology assignment submitted so now I’m just pulling together the final assignment for my photography course before moving on with the next section of the Sociology course.
  4.  Comment on at least 10 blog posts – I’ve commented on 23 posts, although that does include the 15 comments I needed to make to inform people I had awarded them the Versatile Blogger award
  5. Reply to my emails (daily) – I am still keeping my inbox down, no unread/un-replied messages so far.
  6. Reply to tweets/RT’s/followers (daily) – Also keeping up with this one.
  7. Write any Guest Post I have been asked to do – I watched, took notes on and reviewed 5 documentaries for Mind – my post for them should be going up some time today…
  8. Read 1 chapter of fiction – Read a further 2 chapters of  The Choice by Lorhainne Eckhart
  9. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction – Not done any yet but will do in the second half of this week…
  10. Read at least one news article – The Guardian had a sad tale of how mental health patients are still being failed in the UK, which echoed my sentiments following watching the documentaries for Mind…
  11. Contribute to OU/FB forums – I’ve made a few contributions and set up a new group for our road after our ‘Halloween street party’ which was a huge success, community spirit is alive in our little corner of the UK 🙂
  12. 30 minutes of Wii fit per day – I did my 30 minutes Monday, but as explained above I was unable to do any Tuesday and as I’m writing this Tuesday night I don’t know if I will be able to Wednesday yet, we’ll see. I’m not going to remove this yet bt may have to reconsider if my condition continues to be aggravated by it… 😦
  13. Artwork for WIP – None yet, will do later
  14. Comment on at least 5 photos in OU studio – I decided to have a mad blitz and go back through each week and comment on any photos in my group that had no comments, lost count somewhere after 20 comments, but probably at least 50!
  15. Schedule/upload my guests/interviews – Still none to add again this week, maybe I’ll get a new guest again soon!?

Now I’m going back to suffering, I wonder if getting my fiance to give me a massage tonight will help? hmmm

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

20 comments on “ROW80 9th check-in

  1. Eeep 😦 Sorry to hear about your health problems. Is there a way you can just rest for a few days and let it get a bit better (I don’t know much about the condition so I don’t know what it takes to heal)?
    At least you’ve done pretty well with the goals; good luck for the rest of the week, I’m sure you’ll keep doing just as well 🙂

    • I’ll be okay, it’s a problem that fluctuates. I never know when its going to happen and it will take a few weeks/months to settle down again then nothing for a while!? yeah, I’m trying to keep on, its just hard to concentrate on anything when you’re in a lot of pain :/

  2. 5k hits is awesome! Aww. I hope you feel better. Feeling sore and hurting all over sucks for sure. Looking at your goals, it doesn’t look like you did too bad. Just take care of yourself and keep up the good fight. And make him give you that massage 😉

    • I got the massage, it helped a little with the back and shoulders, but the legs are still really bad 😦 I’m trying to keep on but finding it hard to concentrate with the pain 😦

  3. Oh, man! That sort of unexpected soreness after feeling like you’d done awesome in your work out is terrible! Take it easy and rest yourself up, and then you’ll be fully charged for another great rest of the week, right?

    And despite all that, it still sounds like some great progress! Congratulations on the 5000 hits! I’m celebrating breaking 500 in a month, so 5k is super impressive!

  4. Wonderful work on your goals ,and 5000 hits is spectacular.
    The pain is a problem. I guess you are already trying gentle stretches (first, middle & last) for those abused muscles and tendons. Have you tried Bengay on the legs? The odor is a little distracting but the heat might help temper the soreness. Hang in there.
    ~Kate

  5. Poor you. I have a similar problem, but not because I weigh 8.5 stone: I weigh twice that, and twisted my ankle nearly two months ago. I wanted to lose some weight on my WII, but I’ve been so uncomfortable that I just couldn’t do it. I’ve only just started to be able to get up the stairs one foot to a stair – before I was doing one at a time, like an old biddy!

    It’s not anything like as serious as hyper mobility, but I do sympathise with your pain and the frustration of trying to keep your endorphins going through exercise.

    Have you tried acupuncture to manage the pain you get from this condition? Some practitioners can teach you how to work on yourself so that you can give yourself a treatment as and when you need it.

    Best hugs,

    X Clarissa
    http://www.justdifficult.com

    • Thank you, yeah I know what you mean about being like an old biddy on stairs, I hobble around like an 80 year old at times! I have’nt tried acupuncture, guess I might need another referral from the GP to access that… humph hate going to GP for anything they are useless :/ 😦

  6. Oh Sharon, sorry to hear about your health problems, perhaps seated exercises might be a solution at least the chair would take your body weight, I started doing regular deep breathing before I moved into yoga and that was really relaxing. I know it’s not the same as physical exercise but it might be worth a try. Congratulations on still meeting your goals, hope the rest of the week is great.

    • Thanks Katy, I know that swimming would probably be a good option but I’m not a good swimmer and don’t really like swimming (plus going alone – as I would have to – would be really boring! lol). I’ll figure out something that works eventually 🙂

  7. My partner is hypermobile and is so prone to injury. Recently found an amazing physio who has the condition herself and she is working on strengthening Ali and hopefully getting to the stage she is not constantly getting injured.

  8. Pingback: ROW80 10th check-in | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  9. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – The one with a Memoir Taster | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.