ROW80 Check-in – The one with a Memoir Taster


The good news is I’m not in agony any more! whoop whoop! Not 100% but at least I’m on my feet and mobile. I went to see a chiropractor to see if they could help, my pelvis is ‘very’ out of alignment which probably doesn’t help matters, and he also thinks coming off the med’s I had to prevent migraines may be contributing to the increase in my pain issues as it would have had a global effect on pain reduction, not just for the migraines, so I may go back on those – he asked me to wait to see how much help his treatment is first though, so I will wait for now!

Before I get to the check-in I have a special treat for you, a taster of the start of my memoirs/life story that I am writing. This is an unedited draft, so please feel free to critique, it is a mess! Any suggestions/tips would be appreciated! ;D

Introduction

So, I’m sitting reading this book then I pull a pencil out of my bag turn to the inside cover and start writing. You see not particularly because of what I’m reading but suddenly I decided I should write my life in sixty pages. Whether I make it in sixty pages is anybodies guess but I’m writing anyway.

It’s the first day of April, 2006 and turning into another typical year of my life. The job hunting plans have been shelved, again. The big plans are all waiting to be started and as happens every year we are just plodding along day to day hoping this year will be different, things will change. But today I have decided I cannot let things plod along anymore. Today is the beginning of the rest of our lives, just as soon as I get back from my tutorial that is…

In the beginning…

It all started thirteen years ago. I was sixteen and wanted to be a lawyer, but I was pregnant and had recently moved in with my future husband, so plans were on hold for a while.

The pregnancy was rough, but that wasn’t the worst of it. The flat we were living in was due for demolition but the health visitor insisted we must decorate it before the baby was born, even though we could be moving out any day. The other half was helping out some mates cash in hand so we could afford some wallpaper and paint. I was too busy vomiting to do much else then it happened…

You’ll have to wait until I’m done for more! hehe, is that cruel?

Any way, on with the check-in…

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts – 2 down, one to go…
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP – 543 words so far
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions – did some reading and took notes for my second assignment, should have the results of the first ones for both courses by the end of the week!
  4. Comment on at least 10 blog posts – 16 posts commented on so far this week…
  5. Reply to my emails (daily) – Almost a waste including this as I’m always on top of it, lol
  6. Reply to tweets/RT’s/followers (daily) – again, keeping this up fine 🙂
  7. Write any Guest Post I have been asked to do – I wrote a guest post for Mind about crisis care and the referrals system for Mental Health care.
  8. Read 1 chapter of fiction – 1.5 chpaters of Nick Hornby‘s Polysyllabic Spree, the book I keep dipping in and out of between other books…
  9. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction – Another chapter of the Security book for my course done, with notes for the assignment 🙂
  10. Read at least one news article – Not read any yet, but still time!
  11. Contribute to OU/FB forums – Not so much in my photo ones, as I have no new pics to add. But a few comments & reading in others 🙂
  12. 30 minutes of Wii fit per day – I managed to do 30 minutes on Monday, very gentle yoga, mainly the breathing and basic exercises so as not to overdo it.
  13. Artwork for WIP – None yet this week, but got some planned and you can check-out my cartoon character of myself here
  14. Comment on at least 5 photos in OU studio – 23 comments so far this week
  15. Schedule/upload my guests/interviews – None to do

I’m also really chuffed to say I now have over 60 subscribers and passed 20,000 hits on my blog in all time this week! 😀

So, that’s it for this check-in. How are you all getting on? Well I hope! 🙂

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROW80 participants…

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

24 comments on “ROW80 Check-in – The one with a Memoir Taster

  1. The introduction there definitely got me wanting to read more, so I think you’re off to a great start with the memoir! Your goals are looking fantastic, too, so keep it up! And it’s always nice to have agony diminish a little bit, too. Take it easy and remember not to push yourself too much and all that other generic basic advice that goes along with that sort of thing.

    But mostly, just have a great rest of the week. : )

    • Thank you – that’s great to hear! 🙂

      I was trying to take it easy then got bitten by the cleaning bug, 4 rooms and a cupboard later – I’m shattered and aching :/ oops! 😦

      Hope you have a great rest of the week too 🙂

    • Hi I’m not too bad thanks, I hope the pains get better too, a little easier now, so getting there slowly!

      Glad you enjoyed the memoir taster, not sure when I will post more, thinking about trying to get it published!? We’ll see 😉 xx

  2. Very good check-in. You seem to stay super busy. Thank you for sharing some of your writing. I’d keep reading. Looking forward to more 🙂

  3. Wow excellent work! In response to your question in the comments of my blog post today 🙂 I would say that your voice is conversational, down to earth and real. What you put here as a sample is clearly your raw voice as I described in my post.

    Looking forward to seeing your future check ins.

  4. It sounds like you’re on the right (write?) track, both with your memoirs and your goals–well done! Ever read Natalie Goldman’s Writing Down The Bones? It may come in handy for your memoirs.

    Good luck this week!

  5. First – nice teaser – I’m interested…you said D1 and critiques are ok, so please – revisit sentence 2! I read that twice before I caught on that you were talking to me and explaining that you weren’t moved by the book enough to make notes, but that you were suddenly overtaken by your own story. This could very well turn into the line that reels people in..And what WERE you reading? Did something in the book compel you to move into your own, triggering a thought, or did you suddenly realize that your story was more interesting than the one you were reading? Just a thought, anyway.

    But also – stick with the chiro a while. For years my day job was running a chiro office (now I teach chiropractors medical documentation) so I’ve seen a LOT of stuff go around the chiro offices. And if you give them enough time, you’ll likely be amazed by how good you feel in the end. If you have a ton of stuff going on, you could be in for multiple visits each week for 4-6 before you see a significant difference. But it is so worth it if you can get off or reduce meds that have other side effects or make you all ditzy (I get super dingy on pain meds!). And given enough time, migraines can definitely be controlled this way – I had them so bad at one point I was a hospital inpatient with them, getting daily injections in my neck and head (OW!). In the end it was chiro that brought me back.

    So – keep up the writing, I’ll be checking in again.

    • Thank you, that is a great help. i have looked at that so many times thinking I don’t know what to do with it so that it means more to people but with your questions hopefully I can come up with something that becomes the hook as you say! 🙂
      I will stick with the chiro, I was surprised that he suggested I return to my meds actually, and he said himself normally he doesn’t like to encourage people to use medication, he just thinks that potentially in my case it may be the best thing long term?! For now though I’m holding off on returning to meds as he would like to see if he can help first, and I’m happy to try that 🙂

  6. Pingback: A short ROW80 Check-in | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  7. Pingback: Penguin Books – Juliet, Naked – Nick Hornby | Penguin Books

  8. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – The self-pity post… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  9. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – The one with the bragging rights… lol | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.