A short ROW80 Check-in


This is gonna be a short check-in as I am really not ‘feeling it’ at the moment. I may have made good progress again this week but I’m not so sure how the next week will go as I am having some real problems with my BPD at the moment, very low and emotionally unstable. Hence why I just don’t feel up to saying much today. So I’ll just crack straight on with the check-in…


  1. Write at least 3 blog posts – I wrote another 2 posts after Wednesday’s check-in, so that makes 4 this week
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP – 1559 words added, also have someone reading my life-story/memoir WIP to see if it is working out okay so far, as I’m about 75% finished on the first draft.
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions – starting to work on the next assignment for Sociology
  4. Comment on at least 10 blog posts – commented on 12 since Wednesday
  5. Reply to my emails (daily) – done, have quite a few to read today but the are mainly blog subscriptions, so no replies required but may give me a start on the commenting goal for next week…
  6. Reply to tweets/RT’s/followers (daily) – still keeping up with this one 🙂
  7. Write any Guest Post I have been asked to do – N/A
  8. Read 1 chapter of fiction – Started reading Daemon by Daniel Suarez, but I’m going to start again as I was very distracted and couldn’t focus so I have no idea what I read – unusual for me!
  9. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction – if reading the materials for my coaching course count for this, then I have done two block…
  10. Read at least one news article – I read several as a result of reading some other blogs and ended up writing a bit of a round-up post of the blogs and their related news articles – People with Mental Health Problems – Sick, Stupid, Scroungers or Stigmatised, Smart, Super-heros?
  11. Contribute to OU/FB forums – Yeah done.
  12. 30 minutes of Wii fit per day – I have avoided this one. After going to the chiropractor I’m leaving this hanging for a while I don’t want to undo anything he does to help, I’ll ask him about it at my next appointment see what he thinks before I will consider trying this again.
  13. Artwork for WIP – I did 4 pieces for my children’s book, it was basically a case of needing to draw over and add colour to the pictures I drew when I wrote the original story collection so I can scan them in to add to the book.
  14. Comment on at least 5 photos in OU studio – 11 comments made
  15. Schedule/upload my guests/interviews – N/A

I know a lot of people are considering how they will adjust their goals for the holiday season, I’m not planning to do anything different. I will just have a few days off posting as I guess everyone will be too busy with celebrations to be reading blog posts!?

That’s it for today, how are the rest of you getting on? Do you have things in your life that make it difficult for you to stick with your goals at times? How do you manage when times are tough?

Click here  to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROW80 participants…

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

13 comments on “A short ROW80 Check-in

    • I hope so too, but I think this may be a rough one – very triggered and distressed at the moment, kind of know what I need to do to help feel better, but its not something I can fix in a hurry – lots of planning, financing and strength required to sort this one out 😦 xx

      • May you have lots of strength.

        I’m sure that you can do it.

        Ah triggers hey. Not easy to deal with at all. Whenever I get triggered by something, it sets me off in a bad spin and a bad way. It will probably take a bit of time to get out of but persist on and you will make it.

        Wishing you the best,

        The Quiet Borderline
        http://quietbpd.wordpress.com/

      • Thanks, I’m sure I can do it. Like you say it’s getting past the trigger point initially, out of this bad place, then I can focus on fixing the rest! 🙂 xx

  1. Hi! I’m the DBT Suzanne! I don’t know if you were able to look into some of the DBT skills, but when triggered “Distress Tolerance” skills (Guidelines for Accepting Reality) help me.
    RADICAL ACCEPTANCE
    **Acceptance of what is
    **Pain creates suffering only when you refuse to ACCEPT the pain
    **Deciding to tolerate the moment
    TURNING THE MIND
    **Choosing acceptance
    **Turn your mind over & over & over & over again
    WILLINGNESS
    **Doing just what is needed
    **Focus on what is effective
    **Listen to your Wise Mind rather than your Emotional Mind
    TURNING YOUR BRIDGE
    **Accepting that you will not do behaviors again (if you do rash & harmful “coping” behaviors like cutting, binge drinking or eating, suicide attempts, saying awful things to friends or family or bosses, etc.).
    **Burn the Bridge over & over & over & over & over again, if needed
    While in the middle of intense emotions distracts with BOSS skills:
    Focus on being BUSY
    **Hobbies, arts, crafts, chores
    Focus on OTHERS
    **People you love & feel loved by; do something nice for someone; volunteer
    Focus on strong SENSATIONS
    **Intense sight (art work), intense sound (loud music), intense scents (incense or potpourri), intense touch (hold ice cubes)
    Focus on statements of SELF-SUPPORT
    **Encouraging statements; acceptance statements

    To Reduce Vulnerability To Emotional Extremes (Such as might happen during upcoming holiday time, for some), in advance do ABC PLEASE
    ACCUMULATE Positive Emotion
    **Short Term: Do pleasant things that are possible now
    **Long Term: Make changes in your life so that positive events will occur more often (attend to relationships, take small steps towards a goal)
    **Avoid Avoiding (stop avoiding those difficult things that you know you should be doing–like for me going to the doc for my physical exam is so anxiety producing that I keep canceling my appt. thinking that next month I’ll surely be less anxious. Wrong! The next month my anxiety is even worse so I cancel again & I have major health problems that need to be addressed. When I finally do go I am actually building mastery by overcoming my fears & building my self- esteem (proving to myself that I CAN do something HARD & SCARY but necessary).
    BUILD Mastery (Oops, Jumped ahead on this one!)
    **Do things that make you feel competent/effective
    COPE Ahead of Time with Emotional Situations
    **Rehearse a plan so you are prepared to cope skillfully
    PLEASE: Take care of your mind by taking care of your body (sleep, eating, treating physical illness– GOING TO THE DOC WHEN NEEDED!)

    Hope I’m making some kind of sense. I understand these acronyms are hard to understand if you haven’t take a DBT therapy course. Hope you are feeling better. Seems to me you got a lot accomplished for not feeling well. I go into what I call “survival mode”–which is basically “canceling life” & doing only what I have to do to survive when I get into a really bad state which happens less frequently since DBT, thank goodness.

    Also, have you read a book called “Reinventing Your Life” by Jeffrey E. Young, Ph.D. & Janet S. Klosko, Ph.D.? It was recommended at a conference I went to on borderline by a psychiatrist who treats those w/borderline w/schema therapy.

    Take care.–Suzanne in the U.S.A.

    • Thanks Suzanne, I have not been able to access any DBT, I have a private psychotherapist but it’s not the same. I have also bought some books about DBT and skills, just haven’t read them yet… :/
      Although reading what you have put above it looks like I am naturally doing a pretty good job of most of the skills you describe (although there are some I need to focus on a bit more! lol – i struggle most with ‘self-affirmations’ I don’t know what it is about these things but they just annoy me, I find myself thinking its nonsensical, BS to say things like ‘I am a wonderful person, I deserve to be happy, blah blah’ – I wonder why these things frustrate me so much, I just can’t do it!?)
      I’m used to acronyms from studying and they all make perfect sense! 🙂

  2. you’ve done well there considering you’re in a bad place – I don’t have your problems but do suffer from periodic depression and find I have to go into survival mode – finding a quiet place, away from distractions and stress – difficult in life!! have a couple of good friends who help me through

    You look after yourself see – be kind to yourself- dont worry about saying how good you are we’ll do it for you:)

  3. You’ve done remarkably well. I know you’re not feeling it but I’m glad to see that you’re still working toward your goals.

  4. Pingback: ROW80 Check-in – The self-pity post… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.