A song I love and why – Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls


Cover of "Iris"

Cover of Iris

So, I hadn’t written anything to post today as I was so busy trying to sort myself out with the useless UK Mental Health System yesterday. Although I have three posts part written in draft and numerous ideas for posts ready to start writing I just didn’t have the time to actually sort any of these out last night/this morning. Just goes to show even my mega organised way of doing things falls foul of real life at times! Although I was actually expecting something like this to happen this week as I mentioned in Sunday’s ROW80 check-in that I thought I would struggle to meet my goals this week. I knew I was going to be working on ‘me’ as a priority this week rather than bloggging, writing and art. Anyway, as a result this is today’s post…

It’s not much, but I wanted to share another song which says things that mean something to me. It is a song that I have only just recently discovered, even though it was actually a hit back in the mid 1990’s. I really should have heard it back then, I have no idea how I missed it, being such a music junkie as I am! apparently the reason I am hearing it on the radio all the time now is because Frankie Cocozza sang it on X-factor (badly) before he was thrown out. Anyway screw his version, haven’t heard it don’t want to, the real thing though is awesome!!

So, the song is Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls (video below). I wanted to share the lyrics too, as it is these that hold meaning to me – as well as making a truly awesome song!

The first verse makes me think of how much a certain special person means to me, and how much I want to be close to them –

And I’d give up forever to touch you
Cause I know that you feel me somehow
You’re the closest to heaven that I’ll ever be
And I don’t want to go home right now

The second verse also makes me think of this person and how scared I am of things coming to an end…

And all I can taste is this moment
And all I can breathe is your life
Cause sooner or later it’s over
I just don’t want to miss you tonight

Then we get to the chorus, now this really makes me think of the controversy of my life, the first two lines relate to my dissociation, desires to hide away from everything and how I feel so few people can really understand me, but the second two lines show the desperate desire to be seen, loved, known and wanted…

And I don’t want the world to see me
Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am

Then we get to the final verse, here we see the BPD emotional instability, hurting so bad even tears will no longer flow, nothing feeling real and feeling so numb that self-harm is the only way to ‘feel’ anything real…

And you can’t fight the tears that ain’t coming
Or the moment of truth in your lies
When everything seems like the movies
Yeah you bleed just to know your alive

What songs resonate with your life?

Do the lyrics say what you cannot voice?
Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂



Bookmark & Share

12 comments on “A song I love and why – Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls

  1. Oh, I LOVE tis song too, one of my alltimes favourites. My best one at the moment is Miley Cyris – The climb (but dont hold the fact that i like Miley against me LOL) I just love the lyrivs as i feel that is exactly whay my battle with agoraphobia is like. There is a mountain in my way every single time i try to achieve something, there are always battles, but I HAVE to keep trying. Amazing how some song can mean so much x

    • Indeed, I keep writing posts that include songs to explain how I feel/act because they have the words I couldn’t find for myself! lol
      (Don’t worry about Miley, we all have our guilty pleasures! lol) x

  2. Oh my gosh… I have always loved this song. As I read your personal meaning behind it, I got chills.

    I have always loved music and sometimes I can say it so much better just by turning up a song on the radio.

    Great post.

  3. A really great post Sharon!

    It brings back memories of someone I dated and lost because of BPD. He used to sing this song and ‘I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing’ by Aerosmith when they just came out back in the ’90’s.

    Sevae

  4. This song resonates with me too because of things in my life as well. Being different makes you at least a little like hiding because of it’s failure to understand. Being who I especially trips on the failure. My one greatest longing in life is to have people know me, because I feel if they did they wouldn’t hate me. I think this song speaks to a lot of women because of the nature of the world we live in. We want love, closeness, depth in a world that seems far more cold than embracing, and it’s not like we are asking everyone to get it, just one that wants what we have to give. As for me I just hope that one day I can fall in love with someone who understands, just them, and that the fall in love with me for me. This sound speaks direct to that.

  5. I like this song but is it about self harm because it says “yeh you bleed just to know your alive” which is a very big self harm quote. (I should know) so yeh any ideas?? (:

Comments are closed.