ROW80 Check-in – Over Halfway there…


That’s right we are over halfway through this round of ROW80, my first round and it has been quite a journey already!

As such I’m using this post as review of the past 40 odd days and to look forward to the remaining (less than) 40 days…

When I started my ROW80 journey I had just 2 goals:

  • To write at least 3 blog posts each week (although 5 would be better to meet my other blogging requirements… but I do get guest bloggers and interviews at times that can fill any gaps….)
  • To write at least 750 words per month towards my works in progress (I am writing my life story and also a fiction novel  and a tinkering with a few other bits but haven’t been putting in enough effort for any of them – need to crack down and this challenge will help me do that!)

I very quickly realised that, being me, this wasn’t enough to keep me going so I updated my goals at my third check-in to include:

  • To complete the weekly study requirements for both of my Open University courses – the requirements vary each week so I can’t include them all in the overall goal, but at each check-in I can describe what I needed to do, and if I managed to do it :)

and again at my fourth check-in :/

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions
  4.  Comment on at least 10 blog posts
  5. Reply to my emails (daily)
  6. Reply to tweets/RT’s/followers (daily)
  7. Write any Guest Post I have been asked to do
  8. Read 1 chapter of fiction
  9. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction
  10. Read at least one news article
  11. Contribute to OU forums
  12. Contribute to FB forums
  13. Compile Twitter lists to manage my followers
  14. Comment on at least 5 photos in OU studio
  15. Schedule/upload my guests/interviews

Yikes, glutton for punishment or what?

Well from then I managed to behave and these goals didn’t change very much except for the odd replacement if a goal was completed in it’s entirety…

So since then (so 49 days in total) I have managed the following ‘total’ achievements on those goals Including today’s check-in amounts)…

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts – To date I have written 34 posts and 16 check-in’s (including this one), which means an average of 7 posts per week.
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP – I have written a total of 10869 words, an average of 1552 per week.
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions – I am ahead on both courses, actually completed photography course 3 weeks early and approx 3 weeks ahead on Sociology course.
  4. Comment on at least 10 blog posts – I have commented on a total of 192 blog posts, average 27 per week
  5. Reply to my emails (daily) – I haven’t missed a single reply yet, my inbox is staying low 🙂
  6. Reply to tweets/RT’s/followers (daily) – I have kept up with this every day, and a few days of spending a bit of time chatting properly on Twitter, which can be fun.
  7. Write any Guest Post I have been asked to do – I have written a total of 8 guest posts since the start of ROW80
  8. Read 1 chapter of fiction – I have completed 2 books and read 3.5 chapters of another. Which means I’m ready about a book a month, not bad but I’d prefer to read a few more…
  9. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction – 10.5 chapters of various books read, but none completed yet. This means I’m ahead on chapters per week but really need to focus on finishing a book or two!
  10. Read at least one news article – I had read 13, and have 4 I am going to read today, which I think I may end up writing about. That’s an average of 2.5 per week.
  11. Contribute to OU/FB forums – I have made some very good contributions to some forums, commented on others and generally at least just lurked reading stuff even if I haven’t commented.
  12. 30 minutes of Wii fit per day – I’ve only managed 2 sessions, but my pain issues have made this seem a foolhardy inclusion…
  13. Artwork for WIP – I have done 6 pieces in total, and a comic strip. So even though this was a new addition recently I am on target for one per week 🙂
  14. Comment on at least 5 photos in OU studio – I have done a total of 151 comments, 21.5 per week. But finished now.
  15. Schedule/upload my guests/interviews – I have had a total of 7 guest posts/interviews to include on my blog during the period to date.
  16. Compile Twitter lists to manage my followers – This one I completed a few weeks back and removed to replace with the Wii goal, however I am considering revisiting this as I think I need another category or two for certain followers…

So I’m way ahead on goals 1, 2, 3, 4, 10 and 14

Failing at goal 12 

And close/on target with goals 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 16

In addition I set up a Facebook ROW80 group at the start of joining the challenge, which is proving popular with some ROWer’s as a place to do a quick update or share other news.

But now it is time to amend these goals again!

So here is my new list of goals for the next part of the challenge…

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions
  4. Comment on at least 10 blog posts
  5. Reply/comment to/on emails/twitter/facebook/forums
  6. Guest Posts (mine/others)
  7. Read 1 chapter of fiction
  8. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction
  9. Read at least one news article
  10. Artwork for WIP’s
  11. 30 minutes of Wii fit per week.

So, I have combined some of the goals that are easier to manage anyway, removed completed goals and NOT added any new ones, as I have enough to do with all this and sorting ‘me’ out! Plus Christmas is coming, can’t imagine having time for extra stuff now! lol

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROWers…

How are you getting on? Are you ahead of your own game? reviewing amending your goals?

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

12 comments on “ROW80 Check-in – Over Halfway there…

  1. Ha. I’d like to see what you can do with spinning plates on sticks. I bet you could do that too! Good job 🙂

  2. You’ve made me dizzy, lol. I wouldn’t call the exercise a fail considering the circumstances. I took a leaf out of your book and dropped into my course forums and am now involved with fellow students via email. Best of luck for the remainder of round 4.

    • lol, I make myself dizzy! I guess it’s not really a fail, but I’m still trying t figure out a way I can manage to get some exercise in without provoking other things!? Great news, hope you find it helpful (or can help others) being part of the forums, I think it is just nice sometimes to hang out there and all procrastinate or blitz at the same time! 🙂 Thank you, best of luck to you too 🙂

  3. Wow, looking at your achievements in one go, it looks amazing. You’re doing really well!
    Good luck with the new ones, I hope the second half of the round goes as well for you.

  4. There’s always a certain amount of fun (or at least interest, I guess!) in being able to look at all your goals laid out in front of you, see what’s working, see what’s not, amending accordingly, adding something here, diminishing something there, that really appeals to be, which is why I love RoW80! Figuring out how we work can be just as great as getting the work done in the first place! It seems you’re getting a really good grip on knowing what you’re capable of and how much you can do, Sharon. Keep up the great work!

    • Yeah it was fun, I almost went too far and started thinking about doing graphs and pie-charts, lol but I managed to keep a lid on that (for now at least!). Thank you, hope the rest of the round goes well for you 🙂

  5. Pingback: ROW80 2011 Finale and Book Launch | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.