Guest Post – Reading, Writing and being Bonkers by Simone


Simone

Hello! This is Simone from the blog Zermatschen.  I have Borderline Personality Disorder and Social Anxiety and I’m here to write about my favourite therapies.

I’m not new to blogging but I am new to blogging about mental health under my real name.

My post is about the wonderful hobbies of reading and writing. You may not think that reading and writing can be big hobbies because it sounds just like being back at school but they are the best recreational activities known to man. For someone who finds it hard to meet new people face to face and make new friends, being a blogger can make you many online friends who share the same interests as you. It can boost your confidence and self esteem when someone enjoys what you write or when they subscribe to your blog. I don’t just want to talk about blogging though.

Artists have always been associated with “madness”, I am not trying to offend but back in the day of Lewis Carroll that is most definitely what they would have called him, “mad”. I have always found that the best writers and visual artists are those who have been through a lot of hardship in their lives. They have a lot to express and a lot to give the world. Writers are often pictured as quite recluse people and in some cases it’s true. Writing is a big escape from the real world and that means the bad things can disappear for that time, that’s why a lot of writers are said to have depression because they may write to get away from their problems but then end up shutting themselves away to write, which sends them into a circle.

Writing opens up your own world where you can do what you want and be what you want, in respects you are in control of your own world and what you say goes. Writing lets you forget your own problems and make feel accomplished while doing so. People with mental health problems tend to have the best imaginations, for example someone with Bipolar when they are high can create amazing scenarios of which they feel are true, like having superpowers or having the ability to fly. It’s not a good thing that this happens but the things that I have known some people to believe are so creative. The more you wish to escape the more your imagination flourishes.

People with mental health problems have so much creativity because there is so much in their head that when they pick up a paint brush or pen everything seems to come flooding out and it’s such a relief. It’s so much easier to paint a picture about how angry you’re feeling than talk to someone about how angry you’re feeling. A lot of the time with writing, we let our feelings out unconsciously meaning we don’t have to think about it so much, it just happens and then it’s out and we can feel a little better about it.

Feelings that stay inside often fester and grow whereas when you write and let those feelings and emotions out it can allow you to empty out the negative things. Imagine your brain is a garden, in your garden you have flowers and you have weeds, the weeds will kill your flowers slowly and when you write or express your feelings you pull out the weeds so that the flowers can grow and you can feel good again.

Not everyone can be good at writing though, but everyone who has learnt to read can do so. Reading is a lot easier than writing just for the fact that you don’t have to create the world to live in it, you just need to open the book and there you are.

Eighth of Henry Holiday's original ilustration...

I have too many books. I buy them and then I realise I haven’t read the last 30 I bought and so I go back to them. I read everything from Stephen King to Philip Zimbardo to Lemony Snicket. Reading a book can help you relax, it can excite you and it can make you happy. Whatever you want a book to make you feel, as long as you choose the right genre, it probably can make you feel it. As I said about Lewis Carroll, he had the most wonderful imagination and because of it people probably thought he was crazy, so if to have a wonderful imagination I have to called “mad” then so be it and as Mr Carroll wrote himself, “You’re mad, bonkers, completely off your head. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”.

Many Thanks to Simone for her guest post, please pop over and check out her blog Zermatschen and say Hi! 🙂

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂



Bookmark & Share

2 comments on “Guest Post – Reading, Writing and being Bonkers by Simone

  1. “I have too many books. I buy them and then I realise I haven’t read the last 30 I bought and so I go back to them.”

    Are we the same person? haha! I seriously just did this the other day… I was at Goodwill which has books for $0.50 (who could pass that up?) and bought like 15 books. As I was putting them away in my bookshelf I realized that I haven’t even read a good portion of the books I already have. Ah, what a fun hobby. 🙂

Comments are closed.