Possibly the Best Birthday Present ever…


Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

Image via Wikipedia

So, yesterday it was my 35th birthday, I am not particularly one to be bothered about the fact that I am now ‘past my sell by date’ and no longer 21 (as I often feel like I’m still a teenager! and my daughter,17, recently said I look better, younger now than I did a few years ago! lol what a great compliment!). I don’t really make as much effort in celebrating the passing of another year as I did when I was much younger, or do I?

For starters I went out with a few girlfriends last night and we had decided beforehand to have a ‘fancy dress’ theme for the evening of Uniforms. It wasn’t a fixed requirement though as not everyone has the time or money to buy fancy dress, so not everyone who came out was dressed up, however a few of us made an effort…

Just doing this actually makes me think that since I turned 30 I have actually celebrated my birthdays much more than I did all through my 20’s as I never went out for a single birthday after my ‘big’ 21st birthday party, so maybe I do make more effort now? lol

Anyway, the point of this post is not to show how much partying I can do at ‘my age’ lol. The point of this post is to discuss a very special birthday present my fiance bought me…

At ‘our’ age surprise presents are not really the order of the day any more, and it gets harder to find things to buy for each other as generally we tend to have all we need or just buy things ourselves as and when we need them. So I actually knew what my present was going to be, because I chose it a little while ago.

I have never been a huge jewellery fan but I recently ‘met’ Ruth Seba of Seba Dizajn whilst partaking in the Nikki Pilkington 30 day Blog Challenge.  Seba Dizajn is a Croatian Filigree Jewellery design company and shop  owned and run by Ruth and her husband Doka.  Ruth asked me to write a guest post about my favourite piece of jewellery for her site, and I struggled as I had never had much interest in jewellery, but I just about managed to pull it together and she returned the favour by writing a post for my blog about blogging for business. Whilst checking out Ruth’s site I actually found myself interested in the jewellery that Seba Dizajn make, I think it was the intricate fine detail and the fact that each piece is handmade that really caught my eye. The usual ‘bling’ on sale in the UK jewellery stores does not inspire or interest me at all, too much gold, too much bling with large or multiple ‘precious stones’, it really just wasn’t to my taste. But the elegant silver filigree jewellery made at Seba Dizajn was different…

So, I contacted Ruth having spotted a necklace on her site that I liked and asked about the possibility of having a matching bracelet and earrings and the process was started. Ruth came back with two design options for the earrings:

I chose the one on the right (the designs are very similar, but the one on the right just has that extra ‘jazz’) and my fiance offered to pay for the set as my birthday present (it would save him having to try and think of something to buy for me! lol)

Doka then set about making the items for me and Ruth kept me updated on the progress with photographs by email –

 

Once they were finished Ruth posted them out to me and provided photos of the finished pieces, as beautiful as they look in the pictures you cannot really appreciate how gorgeous they are until you see them for real.

When they arrived it was still a little while until my birthday so while I was allowed a little look to see that they really were amazingly detailed, intricate and precious, I couldn’t wait to wear them, but I had to!

Finally the big day came yesterday and I was finally able to wear my beautiful new jewellery set:

So there you have it, the most beautiful jewellery and I really think the best birthday present ever! Thank you so much to Ruth, Doka and my fiance for this wonderful gift!

What is your favourite ever birthday present? 

How do you celebrate you birthday or have you got past the point of counting the passing of years?

And by the way Happy Thanksgiving to all my US friends and fellow bloggers! Hope you are having a lovely time! 🙂

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

23 comments on “Possibly the Best Birthday Present ever…

  1. Oh wow! To see how the set went from a drawing to a work in progress to a finished piece to around your neck. I absolutely LOVE filigree work and that is such a beautiful piece! Do I sound gushy right now? Yeah I’m gushy 😛

    Happy Birthday Shar!

  2. Wow that is gorgeous….I have always bought my own presents, well to be honest, what I do is I just treat myself to something on the week of my birthday….that then goes with the chocolates that the girls usually get me, along with the present my husband usually gets me that he wants myself….would love to treat myself that way….but as I’m not working at the moment I can’t afford to do that…guess Christmas is gonna be kinda boring for me too….already treated myself as there was a massive sale on garden pots and fountains, way below cost, was too good to miss so decided that was my present to myself…..oh boy that jewellery is amazing

  3. Like you I don’t have much interest but they really are beautiful! Happy Birthday btw (even if it’s late). My best birthday present wasn’t really a present, the premiere for the last Harry Potter film took place the day before my birthday so I went up (after spending the whole of the previous day queueing for a wristband to get in) and I just enjoyed spending the day with people from all over the world packed intoTrafalgar Square and seeing J.K Rowling in person. I’m glad you had a good birthday! 🙂

    • Yeah, I really think it’s just that the stuff we have here is just so ‘commercial’ and mass produced, I don’t want to be wearing the same crap as everyone else!? lol Thank you for the birthday wishes 🙂 Ahh well treating yourself to something like that if you are a fan is definitely a good present! 🙂 xx

  4. OMG they are so beautiful!!! You are a lucky gal!!!! Happy belated birthday and I am passing this on … What beautiful pics! You look gorgeous with all your new bling! LOL

  5. Pingback: ROW80 – The Post-Birthday Check-in | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  6. the jewelery looks just awesome.
    and it is a huge difference to see them just laid out on a table or there where they belong.
    they suit you sharon 🙂

    birthday present:
    my favorite one 🙂 once my ex (when he wasn.t my ex) bought me a water color painting set. i love that
    and i also got a toy mammut (ancient elephant) that walks and makes roaring noises ;D

    i love to celebrate birthdays – but recently they are very poorish – since nobody has real time for the celebration.
    last birthday my best mate came at midnight to congratulate and another friend at dinner time for 1 hour.
    rest of the day i have spend alone

    but your idea with dressing up fancy and have a blast with the girls is fantastic

    happy belated birthday and you looking great with the jewels made by doka 🙂

  7. WOW! thanks so much for your kind words about the birthday jewels – to all of you! Must agree with Helen, you wear them well. Have just added some of your additional pictures to our Seba Dizajn facebook album of Happy Customers. And can I add a link here to our new website if anyone wants to browse the Seba Silver shop… http://www.sebasilver.com. Doka and I both happy to know that you are so happy with your gift, it was fun working with you. Looking forward to real meeting sometime in the future x

Comments are closed.