ROW80 – Introducing the Blogger of the Month Award


I have something new for you with this weeks check-in. My very own new award I will be dishing out each month to a very deserving blogger, who will get the ‘Blogger of the Month Award’ this month?

First lets get the check-in and news out of the way…

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts – I’ve done the first of my 3 for this week and have a list of choose from for the others…
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP – 295 words.
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions – Essay plan and notes all sorted for that second assignment, now I just have to write it all up
  4. Comment on at least 10 blog posts – Realised why I am reading so many posts – I’m subscribed to 93 blogs (and that’s just on WordPress!) I have commented on 13 so far
  5. Reply/comment to/on emails/twitter/facebook/forums – same old, lol yes all sorted…
  6. Guest Posts (mine/others) – I’ve written a guest post for TNIM which is up today, scheduled an interview and a guest post for my blog for later this week.
  7. Read 1 chapter of fiction – Final reading for the Security book done, can get back to some ‘leisure’ reading once I’ve typed up the assignment.
  8. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction – none (see above!)
  9. Read at least one news article – I read lost of mental health ones while deciding what to include in my TNIM piece. Also read one about Jimmy Carr (Comedian) getting in trouble over a joke, which is something that frequently frustrates me, my response to the article was – 1. The joke was NOT about Down Syndrome… 2. If you start saying certain issues are ‘off limits’ for jokes, then soon it becomes ALL topics are off limits – either EVERYTHING can be ‘joke worthy’ or NOTHING – you can’t pick and choose, certain things (even none ‘taboo’ stuff) will always offend SOMEONE!!  3. If you don’t like Jimmy’s crass style DON’T BLOODY GO TO HIS SHOWS!!! jeez… :/ – What do you think? Does ‘Comedy’ have free reign to target ‘any’ subject? I know I wouldn’t be offended if they were making jokes about mental health…
  10. Artwork for WIP’s – I have done one piece and designed the logo for my new award…
  11. 30 minutes of Wii fit per week – none

I have also added 3 ‘word meters’ on my side bar to monitor my progress on my 3 WIP’s (the total word count is an estimate for each as I’m not sure what I’m actually aiming for, lol) but it is still nice to see them in this format. If anyone is looking for a word meter I found mine here – Language is a virus 

NEWS FLASH 1 – Pandora of Serial Insomniac won the ‘New Media’ award at the Mind Media Awards on Monday evening, congratulations to her for producing such a brilliant, informative, mental health blog that is has received such a prestigious award!

NEWS FLASH 2 – Randi Kreger, Author of ‘Stop Walking on Eggshells‘ is going to use some of my writing in a forthcoming book, specifically my post on Self-Harm!

AND NOW… drum roll please….

I would like to announce the winner of the NEW ‘Blogger of the Month Award’

This blogger has been posting some funny, insightful and moving pieces about her own life, awesome 10×10 posts (I especially enjoy the music ones!) along with her goals and achievements in the ROW80 Challenge. I admire her grit and determination and even as her recent post says her ‘stupidity’, lol

Without further ado I now pronounce Rant, Rave and Write author Lynnette BLOGGER OF THE MONTH and bestow upon her my brand new ‘badge’ on honour –

November 2011 - Rant, Rave and Write

To accept this award all that you need to do is share it on your blog and award it to one other blogger next month 🙂

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROW80 participants…

How have your goals gone this week?

Tomorrow we start a new month – are you ready for the challenges December will bring? and impact the next round of celebrations will have on you schedule? 

23 comments on “ROW80 – Introducing the Blogger of the Month Award

  1. Cute icon! Congrats to RR and W! Going to follow you so I can browse this blog further – the post titles look interesting but I don’t have too much time!

  2. Thanks for the word meter link, I’ve been considering putting one on my site as a motivator. Great looking award, nice job. Have a fantastic week, Sharon 🙂

    • Yeah, I was struggling to find one but this one seems okay (even if you do have to manually update it) I think they are a great motivational tool 🙂 Hope you have a great week too 🙂

  3. Yay, me! Thanks for the thumbs up! I didn’t even see this until Ryan congratulated me – I’d started at the top of FB and was working my down through.
    As always, I’m amazed by your efforts and the sheer volume of goals you have. And now I’m off to check out your Language is a Virus link. I hate my WIP meter. As it hates me back, we have pretty well come to a standoff. Maybe your will like me.

    • No problem! You deserve it! 😀
      I think you are doing really well with your goals too! I’m loving following your ‘mom’ posts, so funny hehe
      Hope the WIP meter works out okay for you! 🙂 xx

    • Thank you, Just heading over to catch up with your blogs now that I have finally finished my assignment and can have some ‘me’ time!
      I’m doing ‘okay’ at the moment (although mainly just due to studying so hard I’m not ‘thinking’ at all, lol)
      Hope you are doing okay (well, about to find out with the blogs!) xx

      • I’m glad you are doing OK.

        Oh dear, well, you’ll see in my blog that I am not too much of a happy bunny.

        But I am persisting on.

        Take care xx

      • Yeah insomnia can be a bitch! I have a love/hate relationship with it.
        Sometimes it’s a blessing as I can do so much more in a day, but that’s when it doesn’t leave me fatigued. When it leaves me fatigued (as you are suffering now)it’s hell – can’t sleep but too tired to be awake and do anything 😦
        Currently I’m just in a very fatigued phase, but minus the insomnia so I’m sleeping 8+ hours but still sleepy all day and needing to have an afternoon nap – it’s almost as bad as insomnia, at least if you haven’t slept you can understand why you are shattered but this it’s like wtf how the hell am I still tired after a full/good sleep!?
        Keep on keeping on, you can do it, I have faith in you 🙂 xx

      • Thanks Sharon 🙂

        Things will be ok in the end.

        I’m going today to speak with my psychiatrist and see what she suggests. I don’t want to take more medications and like you say, sometimes it’s easier or better to be a bit tired in the day. For me, rather than to take medications and start messing around with my body more.
        Anyway, we’ll see!

        I hope you feel better very soon with the fatigue. I’d be interested in hearing more from you in how you progress.

        Take care xx

  4. So awesome that you thought about this! Great idea 🙂

    I know I’ve said this before, but I keep scratching my head, thinking, how do you keep up with all those goals. You are a one amazing superwoman! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Blogger of the Month Award – December | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  6. Pingback: ROW80 2012 – Guest Bloggers wanted | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  7. Pingback: ROW80 2012 Check-In and Versatile Blog Award | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.