Mental Health Mondays – Happiness :)


Happiness?

What is happiness?

Happiness is a very subjective matter, what it means to each of us will vary. When you have a mental health condition sometimes it is hard to see the moments of happiness as the constant whirlwind of lows and negative emotions can blind you to the good things in life. When every day is a challenge just to make it though alive happiness can become something you only dream of, but even when life is hell those moments – however brief they may be still occur, and we must try to hold on to them, as they can help us make it through!

So, what is happiness? Let’s start with a song…

As the song says,

Happy talky, talky happy talk,

talk about things you like to do,

you got to have a dream,

if you don’t have a dream ,

how you gonna have a dream come true?

I used to love this song when I was little, it was the main reason I had ‘dreams’ of what I wanted to do, what I would like to do and all the hopes and aspirations for the future – why? because I believed what the song says – if you don’t have a dream, how you gonna have a dream come true? 🙂

Okay, but what is the definition of Happiness?

“Characterized by good luck; fortunate. Enjoying, showing, or marked by pleasure, satisfaction, or joy.”
or an Urban dictionary definition –
“Happiness, the greatest gift that I possess. Being happy doesn’t mean everything’s perfect; it just means you’ve decided to see beyond the imperfections.”
I like that one! 🙂
So, what makes me happy? well lots of things I guess, but the hard thing is remembering these things when I am not doing so well – but such is the curse of mental illness! :/
Anyway, whether I can recall them at those times or not doesn’t mean they don’t exist or that I can not or will not ever be happy again – these things are proof that I can, and will! 😀
Let’s try and list a few (maybe you could do this too!? especially if you have mental health problems!)
Things that make me happy:
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Writing
  • Drawing
  • Music
  • Movies
  • Reading
  • My shows – Bones, House, The Walking Dead, True Blood, Dexter
  • Blogging
  • Singing
  • Dancing
  • Nights out
  • Holidays
Okay so I could actually go on, and on here! lol Why is it though that when we are unwell (mentally) we cannot visualise or relate to these happy things? :/
Another list now, happy times in 2011 (in order of occurrence, not happiest-ness, lol)
  • Getting the hot tub
  • Trip to Stonehenge
  • Old friends being ‘there’ for me
  • Meeting Russell Tovey at the Memorabilia Show 🙂
  • Getting engaged to C
  • Norway Cruise
  • Blogging – my own and guesting, especially for Mind
  • London Film and Comic Con (LFCC)
  • Meeting Corey Feldman at LFCC
  • Theatre trips
  • learning to play Pool and being on the Pool team
  • Butlins holidays
  • PGL Holiday
  • Making new friends online and IRL
  • The growth in popularity of my blog
  • My new OU courses – getting back to studying after a break!
  • The vagina monologues
  • My Birthday jewellery set
 Now for a couple of quotes about happiness:
Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace and gratitude ~ Denis Waitley
The Grand essentials of happiness are: something to do, something to love, and something to hope for ~ Allan K.Chalmers
and one I made up myself:
Happiness – we all have the key, some of us just find it hard to find the lock in the dark… ~ Sharon Howard
And finally I leave you with another song – Don’t worry, be happy 🙂

What makes you happy?   Please share your thoughts 😀

11 comments on “Mental Health Mondays – Happiness :)

  1. Sometimes I think a curse of mental illness is the guilt from happy times, dare I even believe I deserve any. Or worse still if I acknowledge them???

    I do like your quote about the key in the dark 🙂

    Xxx

  2. Nice post, I like a quote so am going to share one here too;

    “Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called. ~A.A. Milne

    can I add one more? …… this is a goodie
    Even if happiness forgets you a little bit, never completely forget about it. ~Jacques Prévert

    Have a great week x

  3. I really like your list of happy times in 2011. It makes a good list of gratitudes to start the new year.

    Here’s my quote about happiness: “Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” ~Groucho Marx. ~Hobby

  4. Great quote about the key and the lock Sharon. Hey there’s another job opportunity – writing quotes. Having options contributes to happiness. What I really wanted to say though is that when you have a mental illness it is confusing for those around. You see if I laugh, they think I’m happy. But I’m not necessarily. I could just be laughing at something funny but still be quite unhappy. My family have found this a hard one. They seem to think depressed people don’t laugh. Well sometimes they do. Thanks for your writing today.

    • Thanks Catherine. Ahh if only I could make money/get a job doing all these writing tasks I seem to have a natural affinity for, mores the pity such opportunities are few and far between! Although I am trying to make my own success in that field, time will tell if it pays off! 🙂
      I fully agree with what you say about the laughter, in addition many a time I laugh so much I appear to be having a great time or finding something funny but it is actual a nervous trait for me to sometimes laugh rather than cry or scream. I have been known to laugh at bad news, which makes people think I am callous and cold hearted but it is just that I am so overwhelmed with emotions I cannot express the wrong thing comes out! It feels horrible when this happens and I have to bury my face in my hands to appear like I am shaking with tears rather than inappropriate laughter – I hate it! 😦 I get scared of people telling me sad things in case this happens 😦

  5. Hey, nice post 🙂

    My SW suggested a book to me “The Hypothesis of Happiness”. I’m yet to start reading it – it’s supposed to be very grounding though.

    Keep those positive thoughts in mind x

  6. Pingback: 2011 My Year in Review Part 1 | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.