ROW80 The Penultimate Check-in


So we reach the final Sunday check-in for 2011, what a year it has been, I guess like everyone at some point soon I will have to do a ‘my year in review’ kinda post.

Reflection is a good thing, or so I have been taught on many of my OU courses lol

As those of you who read my Wednesday Check-in will know I hadn’t done as much as normal then due to two distractions – The Eurozone crisis and The Hunger Games books; well I had only just started the first of the trilogy Tuesday evening, but already I knew it was going to cause me a problem for the rest of the week…

Those two things have hampered my progress on just about everything this week, but at least I did manage to finally put together a post about the Eurozone crisis, having finally come to a better understanding of what was happening and yes, I have read al three of the Hunger Games books…

Everything else, well see for yourself…

  1. Write at least 3 blog posts – Well there was a lot of research and work put into the Eurozone post, so much so that my Friday post 3 top tips for surviving Christmas day was thrown together in about 20 minutes in a mad rush Friday morning to have something to publish that day as I had not got anything ready! Still in doing those it means I did 2 posts, since the last check-in…
  2. Write at least 250 words on WIP – Nothing again
  3. Complete OU weekly learning sessions – Nothing
  4. Comment on at least 10 blog posts – barely scrapped up to 11 comments and a number of likes…
  5. Reply/comment to/on emails/twitter/facebook/forums – I think I have just about kept up with replies (by the skin of my teeth) but that is about all this week as pretty much all of my time online was spent looking at stuff about the Eurozone
  6. Guest Posts (mine/others) – none to do yet, thankfully! lol
  7. Read 1 chapter of fiction – I read all 3 of the Hunger games books, the second one was read straight through in 6 hours flat, starting while I was at the hairdressers on Thursday and only stopping to drive home… I have to say they are truly awesome, sorry I can’t and won’t write a review as I feel to do so would spoil things for those who haven’t read them – do NOT read the blurbs on the back of the second and third books before you read the books! There is really nothing one can say about these books without spoilers. Just read them!! I cried horrific, snotty faced, bawling, pathetic tears of horror and disbelief all through the last few chapters of the last book. Devastated is the only word I can say to describe how I felt then. Honestly, they are my number one MUST READ choice for the year – EVERYTHING else pales in comparison and as much as I am looking forward to the film I also know that I will be an inconsolable wreck if they manage to do the books justice in it!!
  8. Read 1 chapter of non-fiction – none
  9. Read at least one news article – Just the Eurozone stuff
  10. Artwork for WIP’s – None
  11. 30 minutes of Wii fit per week – none

So as you can see, I really did nothing apart from reading and studying the Eurozone this week. I hope to be back to normal for the coming final sprint of ROW80!

Check out how the other ROW80er’s are getting on – Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROW80 participants…

Have a great week folks 🙂

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments 🙂

16 comments on “ROW80 The Penultimate Check-in

  1. So don’t hold back, Sharon. Tell us if you like the book or not. Jeez. I hate it when people waffle on wether I should buy a book or not. 🙂 I guess I’ll have to add THG to my list now.

    Keep Rocking The ROW. Finish strong. ~clink~

  2. Thank you so much for letting me be one of the blog commentees! Hey, I know how the Hunger Games can be distractiing. I think I did absolutely nothing but read when I read the first one, then I took a break long enough to order the second, Catching Fire, and life stopped again while I read that. They are so good, and you can’t help but love Petra. Have a great week and holidays!

    • Thank you for your comments, they are always welcome 🙂 Yes, just taking a break to drive home from the hairdressers or cook a meal was excruciating! lol Hope you have a great week and holiday too 😀

  3. Yeah, I want to know about Hunger Games lol I’ll read it as soon as I’m done with the one I’m reading now 😉
    It’s okay to slack or get behind sometimes, after all, we’re humans.
    Try and catch up next week, so you finish feeling well and accomplished 😉
    Have a nice week!

  4. Reading only makes me a better writer, so a great week for you!

    I read the first two Hunger Games and stopped. How’s the third?

    I’m so looking forward to the movie.

    Wishing you much success rounding out the year and heading into 2012!

    • Thanks Tia, Of course I hadn’t considered that side of it! reading is one of my goals for the very reason that it helps with the writing to see how others put things across! 🙂
      The third Hunger Games is great, slower paced initially but with the ultimate climax in the final few chapters that had me bawling! I really hope the movie does it justice!
      Have a great holiday and see you again in ROW80 2012 😀

  5. Oh gads, I just bought all three of THG last week. They are still waiting in the paper bag they came home in – I somehow knew that once I started reading, it might impact the rest of my ROW80 writing goals.

    • Yeah, if you get a chance to read them over the holiday before the next round of ROW80 starts I would recommend that as they will impact on your ability to do anything else while reading! lol But at least (if you are anything like me) it will only take a few days to read them, then you can get back to other things 🙂

Comments are closed.