Recipe – Roasted Butternut Squash Soup


English: Butternut Squash Soup

Image via Wikipedia

I love this recipe, I’m not much of a soup fan but when I first made this soup on my professional cookery course it was the first time I REALLY enjoyed soup.

A perfect starter for your Christmas Dinner, make it the day before then just warm it up and serve so the family can tuck in while you put the finishing touches to the Main Course – yum 😀

I’m including the option for making this for 4 or 10 portions as I know most of us usually have family or friends over at Christmas and may need extra portions available so there is enough to go around! Although even if there are only a few of you it may be worth making extra anyway,as once people taste this delicious sweet soup they always want more!!

4 Portions  10 Portions   Ingredients
600 g       2kg           Butternut Squash (peeled and de-seeded)
2 tbsp      5 tbsp        Olive Oil
100g        250g          Onion (finely chopped)
1 clove     2 cloves      Garlic (optional, finely chopped)
4           10            Bacon rashers (diced)
625ml       1 1/2 litres  Chicken or vegetable stock 
6 tbsp      15 tbsp       Cream or thick natural yoghurt (optional)
salt, pepper

You will need a large deep pan, or stock pot for larger portions and a food processor/liquidiser.


Method:

  1.  Cut the squash into thick pieces, place on a lightly oiled baking tray and roast for 20-25 minutes in a hot oven (gas mark 7, 220C or 425F) until the flesh is soft and golden brown.
  2. Sweat (fry) the onions and garlic without colouring, approx 5 minutes.
  3. Add the bacon to the onions and garlic and lightly brown, transfer to large pan/stock pot.
  4. Add the roasted squash, pour in the stock, bring to the boil, then simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Allow to cool. Then liquidise until smooth or desired consistency.
  6. Season lightly, add yoghurt or cream.
  7. Reheat and serve; or freeze.

Alternatives:

Personally I leave out the cream/yogurt or you could just choose a low-fat version to reduce the fat content of the soup. If you use yoghurt add half a teaspoon of cornflour (4 portion, 1 tsp 10 portion) to stabilise before adding to the soup.

For added flavour add 3-4 strands of saffron (per-soaked in 1 tbsp hot water) at point 4.

If you prefer a very silky smooth soup you can strain the mixture through a fine sieve after liquidising to remove any remaining bits.

I hope you enjoy this scrumptious soup – Merry Christmas 😀


What is your favourite Winter Warmer recipe?

7 comments on “Recipe – Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Too busy to write… sorry | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  2. Oh, man. I love soups (especially in winter!) and I love squash, and I love playing around with different ways of combining the both, so I’m looking forward to trying some of your suggestions here! I’ve been craving a nice thick squash or potato soup lately, too!

  3. Hi Sharon,

    Seems like a really nice soup and am definitely going to try it out. How nice that you inserted my recipe on related articles. As I just started blogging and if you have the time maybe you tell me how you can insert related articles. Best wishes and happy holidays 😉 Claire

  4. Pingback: Christmas Cooking – 3 Great Recipes to spice up your celebration feasts :) | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.