ROW80 2012 Check-in – Crashed again…


For Sundays check-in I made a few, small realistic goals to bring me to today. Unfortunately after writing that post I crashed again…

An argument with my other half triggered me massively into a self-harm, suicidal episode that ran through Sunday and left Monday as a ‘void’ day where I was unable to do much at all.
On Tuesday I managed to pull myself together a bit and do some studying and spent some time with my best mates, an idea that came up in conversation with them has helped pull me up even more because it could be the biggest thing ever if I can pull it off – I can’t give any details at this stage, but let’s just say it is something that could be the making of me and help me get better more than any pills or therapy could! For now I just need to knuckle down and get some work done on getting it up and running, and see if it can be done. (And I don’t even want to hear about that ‘other’ thing that was going on on Tuesday!)
The Goals –
You can see the full break down of my original goals here
My goals for this check-in were:
  • Write blog posts for each day
  • Comment on 5 ROW80 check-ins and 5 non ROW80 blog posts.
  • Do my first unit of the Business Course (which has finally started!)
  • Do some work on my Sociology assignment

I didn’t manage to write anything myself but I had a couple of guest posts that I could use to tide me over for Monday and Tuesday’s posts.

I didn’t get to do any commenting 😦

I did manage to do half of the first unit of my business course and the assignment work that goes alongside those sections.

I didn’t get any work done on the Sociology course.

I also still need to award the Versatile Blogger award to 15 blogs.

I also haven’t done any work on preparing for the move!

So, all in all a pretty poor show – but not unexpected given my crash on Sunday!

But, I’m still here, still trying – at least I don’t just quit!!

That said my goals for taking me to Sunday’s check-in now are:

  • Write some blog posts
  • Comment on some blogs
  • Answer my emails!!!
  • Find 15 blogs to give the versatile blogger award to
  • Continue working on my assignments
  • Work on this new idea

That looks like a lot of goals but most of them are very flexible and not tied to SMART objectives, which allows me more breathing room.

How are you getting on with your goals? 

Have you had to make adjustments?

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROW80 participants..

27 comments on “ROW80 2012 Check-in – Crashed again…

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been having a hard time of it! Sending good vibes your way. Don’t forget to just take it easy!

  2. sorry to hear about your rough time Sunday. glad you have some friends who can help you pull yourself back up.

    Sometimes having several smaller flexible goals is better than having just a couple large goals.

  3. It’s good and admirable that you can keep pushing through. I’ve stopped setting myself dates for completion because novels are so long and until it’s a full time job, life won’t plan itself around the writing… but soon… soon!

  4. Hang in there, Sharon. You are only human after all! 🙂 I love that you are taking sociology classes.. that was my favorite class in college That one and creative writing.
    Like you said: just don’t quit!

  5. Definitely take a breather this week! *hugs* on the episode. It’s never easy to spring back, but you are doing a great job of staying on the road. Keep writing, hon, and I hope your week is far better. *hugs*

  6. Sorry to hear you weren’t well. Hope you’re feeling a lot better soon. But rather you than me for the sociology as it’s a subject I detest! History is my thing. Different strokes for different folks!

  7. Sharon, as horrible as the crash was, at least you didn’t allow it to do anything permanent and you are still moving ahead, slowly but still ahead. (When you have a crash as big as this one sounds, even not stopping and falling completely behind qualifies as moving ahead). And for the moment the disaster has passed, you haven’t lost focus and you can move on. Best to you. Like Dawn said,>HUGS<

  8. Those episodes can be rough. I’m glad to hear you’re managing as well as you are. Self-destruct modes can be exhausting. Concentrating on staying busy and moving on is always a big help. Writing can be a lonely path, but I’m continually reminded the difference between lonely and alone. This is a great support group. We’re all human with our human tendencies. We all stumble at some point. We just have to remember to get back up and keep moving. It is always rewarding.

    Hope this week is much, much better for you. Keep your chin up.

  9. My friend always tells me, “fall down seven times, get up eight” – you’re a survivor, well done for holding on whilst trying to keep moving forward, it can’t be easy with all the recent stress and heartache in your life. Go gal! xx

  10. Pingback: ROW80 2012 Check-in – Still slow progress | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.