ROW80 2012 Check-in – Getting the mojo back


Well something certainly seems to be working out alright for me at the moment, because I seem to be getting my mojo back.

I have had a productive second half to the week and I’m really pleased with how well things are going.

I guess it has helped that I haven’t had that much else to do during the second half of the week, other than trying to catch up with myself, so here’s how I’ve got on…
The Goals –
You can see the full break down of my original goals for this round here
My goals for this check-in were:
  • daily blog posts – I have posts scheduled up till next Thursday, including a guest post. So all I need to do now is my flash fiction post for Friday and something for Saturday and my check-in’s to complete next week!
  • read/comment on others posts – I have reorganised when I receive my notifications of blog posts published on WordPress so that I get them all first thing in the morning rather than constantly throughout the day. This has really helped streamline the reading/commenting task and as a result I have commented on 34 posts since Wednesday!
  • keep up with emails – Also much easier to handle now that I am only receiving ‘other’ emails during the day and these are not many or often so again this is going really well.
  • do my assignments – I got 77% on my latest Sociology assignment, a pleasing score. Of course there’s always another one to be done so I am still ploughing on with this and keeping on schedule for getting them in on time 🙂
  • catch up with social media – not a huge amount of time spent on this but I’ve returned to my Hootsuite account which is another thing that is helping make it a bit easier. Although having joined Triberr and Pinterest could potentially increase the time burden of social media stuff(I have seen a lot of people become rather addicted to constantly ‘pinning’ things – although I have received some blog traffic from Pinterest where someone else posted one of my blog posts on their board! So, it can’t be all bad!!
  • get back to writing on my WIP (hopefully! lol) – okay so nothing yet, but the thought is there, I’m sure I will get back to it again soon now!

In addition to these I started reading another book (even though I have to finish the one I was reading before) and I have almost caught up with my TV shows (House, Bones and The Walking Dead)

Although I am not going to push myself too hard and not worry if I don’t hit the target on all of the goals I am going to return to using my original goals list now, just to see how well I am doing, it’s easier to measure my progress if I look at how much I ‘want’ to be achieving overall. Therefore my goals for the final few check-in’s are:

Blogging –

  • At least 5 post per week (not including check-ins)
  • Guest posts (me writing for others and others for me) and interviews
  • Pages – Keep up to date
  • Comments – read and comment/like at least 10 blogs per week and keep up with responding to comments on my blog

Reading

At least 1 book per week  (fiction or non fiction)– to meet 50/50 (Fifty/Fifty.Me) challenge and reduce my ‘to be read’ pile

At least one news article per week – for inspiration

Do any Beta Reading that I have lined up

Writing

At least 500 words per week on any of my 3 wip’s. Priority on ‘The Way I See It’ my BPD book, which I hope to complete this round as my overall goal for the round.

Art

At least 1 drawing per week, either for pleasure, wip or comic strip. Blog it, why chose to draw this, what it is etc…

Exercise

At least 30 mins every other day, either wii fit, step or pilates (maybe join a pilates class?)

Study

OU weekly requirements

Complete at least one study block of Business course per week

Other

Emails – keep up with reading, responding and tidy inbox weekly.

Music – Add at least 5 CD’s per week to back-up/itunes etc on laptop/server

Movies – Watch at least one NEW film per week for 50/50 challenge

TV Shows – watch Bones, House and The Walking Dead weekly episodes

Photography – Approach 1 stranger, photograph them and blog about it – another challenge, to get me out of the house and meeting people – should be interesting! hopefully one a week, but not sure yet – still a new idea!

-//-

Let’s see how that goes!

I have a big important interview on Tuesday, so I suspect the preparations for that will mean I don’t get much done towards these for Wednesday’s check-in, but who knows…

How has your week been? 

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROWers…

38 comments on “ROW80 2012 Check-in – Getting the mojo back

  1. OMG, I’m impressed! It looks like you got my mojo AND yours this week. That just rocks! I want you to smoke the entire rest of the round like this just I can jump up and down all excited for you. 🙂

    You go, girl!

  2. I only just found your blog today and I have to say I am impressed with your goal list! I definitely need one of those written up. I have so much I want to do and not a lot of time do it. I love that you have written in the tv shows into your goal list – I never thought to do that. I have one movie and about 4 Castle episodes I want to watch and they always, always come last in my list. You have inspired me!! 🙂

    • Hi Virginia, thank you. I find the more I do the more time I have to do things – strange, but then they always say if you want something done ask a busy person! lol Glad to inspire you, I had to add some leisure activities or I would never take time out to relax! 😉

  3. Wow! How awesome are you, Sharon? 😀 Great job on keeping up with your progress.. I love Pinterest! I never thought to PIN blog posts… Love that idea. 🙂
    Have a great week! I will see you around.

    • Haha thanks for the praise Darlene, I am very pleased with myself for pulling myself back together so well! Yeah, I never thought of pinning blogs either till I spotted the traffic coming from Pinterest and saw that someone had posted my blog (guess it’s only fair not to post our own? and let others do it for us? but who knows…) I guess I need to spend more time there building up my following and sharing good content! 🙂 Hope you have a great week too!

  4. I love your obvious energy right now – all fired up. I had that for a while – still have the embers with me 🙂 Best of luck for the coming week on those awesome goals. X

  5. How the heck are you reading one book a week? Little golden books don’t count!

    Ha!

    I am trying to read one book a month. Doing okay so far (actually a little ahead)

    Glad you found your mojo!

  6. WOW!! Mojo indeed! Excellent job on all of your accomplishments 🙂 What a great and empowering feeling, eh? Keep up that awesome attitude – and I wish you another high octane week!! *cheers loudly* WOOT!

  7. Wow, looks like you got enough mojo back for several of us – congratulations on a productive week! Taming the email and blog beasts is a big task, and I’m sure that helped you tons. Checking them whenever you hear the ping of you email is tough not to do – sounds like you have a system that really works! Have a great week!

    • It sure feels like that! lol yeah getting the blog and email beasts under control has been a huge help! Hope you have a great week too 🙂

  8. Congratulations on the awsome Sociology score on your assignment. Wow, you’re really flying this week! And I love your idea of photographing one stranger. What a great way to get out there and meet new people.

    Have a terrific week!

    • Thanks Sheila, I was pleased with the score 🙂 Yeah, I think it will be a little while before I get back to the stranger task, but I was having fun with it before I crashed! 🙂

  9. Wow, you’re Rocking the ROW this week Sharon! I’m impressed! You had a terrific week and it sounds like you’re gonna have another great week! That’s awesome! 🙂

  10. Hey, what an excellent blog post, really pleased that you have returned to your original goals, looks like you are making excellent progress on all frontiers…. keep up the really good work and you will achieve some excellent things. 😀

  11. so good to see – glad your mojo is alive and kicking well – long may it continue – our promised spring weather should help – my energy levels rise with every degree above zero we get too:) all the best for coming week

  12. You know I set goals too and have the BEST of intentions…. But… I am finding things on my March “to do” list that were also on my Jan “to do” list 😦 Frustrating…. but, hey, it’s good to know others are out there trying to keep up too!

    • Yeah, I think it has ended up being quiet a chaotic start to the year for lots of us! This is why I don’t make resolutions, they are doomed to fail! lol But goals, on the other hand should be flexible enough that you can get there in the end, which s exactly what I intend to do 😀

Comments are closed.