ROW80 2012 Check-in – The annoying lack of internet…


Don’t you just hate it when you are feeling mega productive but things outside your control have to ruin it for you!?

It has been one of those weeks this week and it isn’t going to get any better next week, which is a real let down for me as it means finishing this round of ROW80 is going to be on a low rather than a high.

Why?

Because I have no goddamn internet, and can only get online occasionally to keep up with the most important things, no time for any extras. 

So this means a lot of the things I want/need to do to achieve my goals are currently unattainable and this will not be corrected until Saturday 24th March when my internet should be connected (if it actually happens this time!)- which while only 6 days away feels like forever when you are used to being able to go online at any time of the day or night to do what you like!!
So, here goes the very limited check-in, the lack of internet was very demotivating for achieving other things as well :/
The Goals –

Blogging –

  • At least 5 post per week (not including check-ins) – I’ve only written one post ready for next week and really need to pull my finger out on this one today or my blog will be empty this week!! 😦
  • Guest posts (me writing for others and others for me) and interviews – I still need to write the guest post I was asked to do last week.
  • Pages – Keep up to date – nothing yet due to lack of internet access.
  • Comments – read and comment/like at least 10 blogs per week and keep up with responding to comments on my blog – struggling due to lack of internet, trying to comment when I can but not really getting much done here.

Reading

At least 1 book per week  (fiction or non fiction)– to meet 50/50 (Fifty/Fifty.Me) challenge and reduce my ‘to be read’ pile – still reading Catch 22 I can’t believe how slow I am reading!

At least one news article per week – None this week.

Do any Beta Reading that I have lined up – None to do

Writing

At least 500 words per week on any of my 3 wip’s. Priority on ‘The Way I See It’ my BPD book – none at all

Art

At least 1 drawing per week, either for pleasure, wip or comic strip. Blog it, why chose to draw this, what it is etc – None.

Exercise

At least 30 mins every other day, either wii fit, step or pilates (maybe join a pilates class?) – Physio only.

Study

OU weekly requirements – The only REAL success for this check-in is that I did the massive presentation assignment, now I don’t have another one due till May so I can concentrate on other things for a little while and play catch up – when once I have the internet that is!!

Complete at least one study block of Business course per week – Started looking at second assignment but as the course is online I’ve not had chance to do much! 😦

Other

Emails – keep up with reading, responding and tidy inbox weekly – just about, again due to the internet issues.

Music – Add at least 5 CD’s per week to back-up/itunes etc on laptop/server – None.

Movies – Watch at least one NEW film per week for 50/50 challenge – None.

TV Shows – watch Bones, House and The Walking Dead weekly episodes – none since the internet went down as I watch online.

Photography – Approach 1 stranger, photograph them and blog about it – Not started back on this one yet.

-//-

So, all in all a big let down. A very frustrating week and knowing I have the same to face this week is depressing!! 😦

How has your week been? 

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of other ROW80 participants…

12 comments on “ROW80 2012 Check-in – The annoying lack of internet…

  1. Hey Sharon.. sorry your internet is down.. that does make it difficult to get things done, I know. But know in your heart you want to get it done!
    I hope you get your internet back soon!
    Keep your chin up. 🙂

    • Hi Darlene, yeah it’s hell having to just pop on when I can ‘borrow’ some wifi for a short while – how did I ever live before the internet!? lol

  2. Good luck with all of your goals. I’ve thought about joining a pilates class, too. right now, I’m walking 30-60 minutes a day (broken into 2 -30 minute jaunts). It seems to be helping a little. It does great to clear the head. Here’s to getting your internet back soon. I remember being away for a week without it and I was going crazy.

    • I’m also doing a lot of walking, which is good, but I really want to tone my tummy a bit too! I’ll be back online properly next weekend 🙂

  3. Oh, man, I feel for you! Not sure how I’d make it without my Internet. It’s amazing how much we rely on it, isn’t it? Good luck with things!

  4. There are times I could hit my computer with a hammer so I understand how frustrating it must be! But congratulations on doing the Open University stuff! Well done!

  5. You are handling your Internet lack much better than I would so consider yourself inspirational. As for Catch 22, don’t believe that’s a quick read but what an interesting style not to mention story.

    Here’s to your online return.

    Karen

  6. Bless your heart! How rough. Another ROW80er (Alica Mckenna Johnson) has struggled with internet connection this round as well and been limited with what she can do. I feel for you both!

    In those moments, though, there isn’t much you can do. So don’t worry about the stuff requiring internet and focus on the others. Hopefully, those few days will pass quickly and you’ll be connected to the virtual world party before you know it!

    Hope to see you in Round 2 of ROW80!

    • Thanks Julie, yeah lack of internet certainly holds you up more than you realise with everything! Once I’m back properly it will be so good!! Hope the big finale has gone well for you and I will see you in Round 2! 😀

Comments are closed.