Flash Fiction Friday – Picture it and Write


Thanks to Daniel at Words Form Windows I have found yet another source of inspiration for my Flash Fiction Friday pieces.

Daniel has shared some pieces inspired by Ermilia’s blog where they regularly post ‘Picture It & Write’ articles.  For those who don’t know what this is, they post a picture and then write a brief story about the image.  They then ask for you to join in, your can either carry on their story or write your own. You can also do poetry and even something in another language (providing there is a translation posted along with it).

As daniel says I would encourage everyone to give it a go because it helps get the “creative juices” flowing.

I have chosen one of the images shared recently to inspire my latest piece…

Hidden behind the curtain I carefully line up glass upon glass. Checking each one for imperfections as I place it on the gold and black striped cloth. Starting at the centre of the board, the first glass positioned, perfectly calculated to the millimetre. 120 glasses on the first layer.

As needed an extra buff, to enhance the shine, a glittering array is a must.

Once the base board is covered,  in perfect symmetry I begin to add a layer of glasses on top of the first. The beginning of a slow, delicate, precise building process. Each glass must be placed with the middle of its base resting upon the small space between the glasses below.

All in all 680 glasses are to aligned in a triangular formation. My task is not a small one, the slightest bump and they will all come crashing down.

The Captain’s Circle event is less than an hour away as I begin to add the twelfth of fifteen layers, now working from a precarious set up of ladders and boards surrounding the fountain. I worry about the oafish porters and the high potential for them to destroy my work when they remove the equipment once I have completed the display.

Finally the last glass in place, the whole thing is for photographic effect more than anything, as such the task of erecting the glass tower was made much more difficult by the necessity of having the first 10 layers pre-filled half way so as to not waste too much time (or look to barren for the pictures) when the Formal Evening begins and the ship guests arrive to pose with the Captain  and pour some champagne into the fountain for that ‘once in a lifetime’ memory shot.

My work complete, I watch over as the platforms are cleared and the marble effect stand for the passengers is bought into place. Not a nudge occurs and I finally breathe again, the stage is set, the Champagne Fountain is ready.

Perfection.

***

Why not have a go at writing your own piece using the picture above as a prompt? And if you do be sure to share a link in the comments below and pop over to Ermilia’s blog too to share your link there 😀

2 comments on “Flash Fiction Friday – Picture it and Write

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction Friday – Dialogue | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  2. Pingback: Flash Fiction Friday – Editing | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.