Covers of great songs – love them or hate them?


Ruby Red cover version 2

Ruby Red cover version 2 (Photo credit: spinneyhead)

We’ve all been there, someone is raving about this ‘great new’ track they’ve heard by some current popular (or not so popular) musician or new band.

Then we hear ‘said song’ and think, ahhh that’s not new it’s a cover of…

of course the original song might have been recorded many years previously, and if the person extolling the virtues of the new version wasn’t even born then (your child, or a younger friend) they may never even have heard the original.

That song could happen to be an old favourite that has been completely ruined by the cover version, or the cover might actually be better than the original. Of course there’s also those covers that a good in their own respect but are actually very different from the original that a straight comparison just isn’t appropriate.

With the growth in digital music downloads now the release of a cover version of a song can be great news for the original artist too as people rush to get a copy of the original as well as the new version.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with making cover’s of old songs, it can help make music last and reach new generations. Some people hate it when a cover version is made of one of their favourite band’s tracks, and sure if it is a bad cover I can understand them being upset. But, come on we’ve all heard song’s being completely destroyed on TV shows such as the X-Factor! So (most of the time) if the song actually makes it to release then it can’t be that bad – even if it might not be to your taste!

Here are a couple of cover versions and the original’s of songs I like…

Cover Version – Alone Again, Alyssa Reid

Original – Alone, Heart

Cover – Wherever you will go, Charlene Soraia

Original – Wherever you will go, The Calling

What do you think? Cover versions – love them? hate them?

What is your favourite cover version?

14 comments on “Covers of great songs – love them or hate them?

  1. Love this post, Sharon. I am one of those “you have to listen to the original!” people.. lol.
    I love Joan Jett’s cover of Crimson & Clover
    Aerosmith’s cover of Come Together

    Hope things are awesome for you, Sharon! See you around.

  2. Wherever you will go: I think I like the cover better actually. I’ve always liked the original, I just really like Charlene’s voice.
    Alone: This one is a toss up for me… I do like the cover, but the original is more… captivating I guess. It left a memory whereas I’m not sure the cover will.

    • I like Charlene’s voice too, it is a good cover. Alone, I like that that cover is very different but also still prefer the ‘power’ in the original ballad 🙂

  3. I love Enjoy the Silence by Depeche Mode, but about six years ago an Italian rock band called Lacuna Coil did a cover of it and I prefer it to the original (and the more recent cover by Susan Boyle haha). The band also covered Losing My Religion by R.E.M and it’s so different from the original that it’s almost unrecognisable 🙂

  4. I remember hearing Ronnie Montrose do an instrumental version of Gene Pitney’s “Town Without Pity”. It’s a great song and I love Gene Pitney’s voice, but Montrose’s version was just as good. Also, Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You” is better than Dolly Parton’s, even though Dolly wrote the song.

  5. I wrote an essay on cover songs in university and I love them! There are bad ones but I know as someone who loves to sing it is very exciting to take a song that you enjoy and turn it into your own! I think a cover song is a great compliment to an artist that other artists enjoy your song and want to share it with their audience!

  6. Hey I love one by Charlene Soraia – Where ever you will go. I say better than original but I like her voice.. Hope all is well

    Shauna
    Bipolar2happiness.com

  7. I prefer the originals usually. But sometimes someone is really talented and creative and makes the song their own, then I will like the cover. But only if it takes me a while to realize it’s a cover. 🙂

    • Yes, it takes a while to recognise some covers, especially if you didn’t know the original very well yourself. Another good one at the moment (that I didn’t realise was a cover at first) is Go Your Own Way by Lissie, originally by Fleetwood Mac 🙂

Comments are closed.