ROW80 2012 Round 2 – Lost the mojo


Why is it always the way, you start to get on track in one area (for me it’s getting over the physical and emotional stresses of the past few weeks) and then something else slips up to replace that anguish!? As I wrote on Thursday I now have a problem with writing – I’ve lost the mojo, I’m struggling to write anything at all for my personal blog and WIP’s- thankfully it hasn’t stopped me doing the writing for others that I have needed to do, but it is still very frustrating!

So, it won’t come as much of a surprise when you see how I’ve gotten on with my goals this week…

Writing

My goal here was just to do ‘something’ with my WIP’s during each week – nothing at all 😦

Blogging

I’ve managed all my daily posts despite the struggle to write at all, but I have nothing for next week yet and I could do with getting some done so I can get on with other things!! I have commented on a number of blogs, I wrote the TWIM Wednesday ‘This News in Mentalists’ post and I wrote the two paid for posts on Pinterest which go live on the 23rd and 24th April over at TotalPinterest – so please pop by each of these and have a look at what else I do 😀

Reading

I am still reading ‘Conduct’ this week, not a book for leisure, required reading for my final assignment before the end-of-course assessment for my OU Sociology course. I’ll get back to books for pleasure once the assignment is done – another thing I am struggling to find the words for! :/

Other

So, as I mentioned above I have done the two articles for the paid work and a post for TWIM.

I have signed up for a jewellery making course at my local library to get me out of the house for a few hours a week.

On Monday (tomorrow) I start volunteering at my local British Heart Foundation Charity Shop, another thing to get me out of the house a bit while I try to find a paid job.

I am still fragile after the latest emotional and physical episodes but (I think) I am starting to lift back out of that lull at least a little bit.

Therefore, all that remains is to continue on the recovery and regain my writing mojo and thanks to some great advice on my post about that issue, hopefully I will be back in the swing of things there soon too!

How has the week been for you?

Have you got any news to share?

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list of fellow ROWers…

26 comments on “ROW80 2012 Round 2 – Lost the mojo

  1. Sorry to hear that your writing mojo has not returned yet, sending positive vibes that it will. Interesting though that writing for the paid stuff is happening….what do you think is the reason for that? Is it the deadlines? is it that you can’t let those people down? Can you take a little time to ponder this?

    Regarding something else taking the place of the problem or challenging issue when you feel you have things back in flow, that apparently is very normal. Probably doesn’t help in some ways but comforting to know it’s not you.

    • Thanks Heather. I have been trying to figure out why the paid (and unpaid) writing for others is still flowing. I think the deadlines and not wanting to let people down does help, although it doesn’t seem to have made me get my university assignment done!?

      True, it is comforting to know it’s not just me, but it still seems I get more than my fair share of crapiness in general, lol

  2. If I could put up “Missing: Mojo, Reward If Found” signs on every light post along the internet I would. I hope it finds its way back to you. Have a better week!

  3. Definitely not just you! I’ve been working through a fiction workshop this past week, and was surprised to find an assignment to write the first scene of my next book! I haven’t written anything *new* in my fiction for over 2 years, so it was a bit of a shock, and getting the words to come was like dragging myself through molasses. I eventually got ’em though (and thank heavens for revision!). Good that you’re still doing the writing, even if it’s not on your books. Know that your ROW80 buddies are cheering for you!

  4. I lose my ‘mojo’ all the time. But the great thing about ‘losing’ your mojo, is that it eventually returns 🙂

  5. It always returns, tail between legs and no really good excuse for the missing time – good that some is being acheived and if it’s because you dont like letting people down – rejoice a bit – makes you a nice person, that is worth a great deal

    all the best for coming week

    • Thanks Alberta, I never think of the fact that not wanting to let people down means I am a nice person – I don’t often think of myself in positive ways at all though :/ Maybe I should try harder to be nice to myself! lol

  6. For the most part you had an upward moving week! The mojo disappearance—it happens to me every other week…either I can’t write what I need to, or it takes.me.forever.! Blog posts aren’t as tough–I’m guessing that subconciously I attach more importance to them because I have a deadline. I guess i need to give myself a deadline on my story writing, too.
    Wishing you a better week with writing and emotionally/physically. Hugs to you, Sharon!

    • Thanks Marcia, It’s good to know that other’s have the mojo loses too, makes it feel more acceptable lol. I think deadlines do help with a lot of things, even if you end up rushing last minute to complete in time, at least it gets done! Hope you have a good week too 🙂

  7. Sorry to hear things aren’t going well for you. I’ve been struggling because our cat’s been ill and we thought she was going to die last week! Thankfully she’s getting better now but yesterday I had to get up from my desk every half an hour to check on her so I wasn’t able to focus or concentrate on anything in particular. Let’s hope that next week is better!

  8. Today is the 10th anniversary since my mother passed. It is a very sad day for me, but I have wrote two posts in my blog about her, and what is positive is that writing about her has helped me a lot to make this anniversary less painful.

  9. I’ve been struggling to keep my writing mojo as I struggle with emotional stuff too. Like you getting some done, others not. I know I count it as a victory just that progress is being made in anything – I hope you can too! Let’s hope this next week is better for both of us 🙂

  10. Well done on your volunteering. It’s something I should have done ages ago but never got myself in to, It’s a shame.

  11. Pingback: What to ROW About « Many Worlds From Many Minds

Comments are closed.