Review – Cirque Du Soleil, Alegria


Alegría (Cirque du Soleil)

Alegría (Cirque du Soleil) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am a huge fan of the arts and subscribe to a number of email newsletters and updates that inform me of new shows coming up in theatres, concerts and various venues/performances.

Some time last year I received one of these updates informing me that Cirque Du SoleilAlegria was coming to Birmingham (my home town) and I just had to buy tickets – I had wanted to see Cirque Du Soleil for as long as I can remember and had never had the opportunity before for a various reasons from not having the finances at the time or the show only being around when I already had other plans and so on.

I purchased the tickets immediately, there weren’t cheap, £50 each. But, then I completely forgot about the purchase as the tickets would not be sent through until much nearer to the show date. So, when they arrived last month I was very excited due to having completely forgotten that I had bought them. The only problem now was who do I take with me? I had bought the tickets whilst with my fiancé not thinking at the time that we would not be together when the show came around…

In the end I decided to take my mom, I thought I would be a lovely treat for her and a chance for us to spend a little quality time together as we rarely do that.

Last Friday I drove over to Birmingham, picked my mom up and headed into town to the NIA (National Indoor Arena) where the how was being performed.

Naturally we were both really looking forward to it. Upon arrival we were directed to our seat and were pleasantly surprised to discover that I had bought really great seats very close to the stage, so our view of the performance would be spectacular. The stage looked fairly simplistic, but we would later discover that it was actually a very complex piece of technical engineering…

Before the show began properly a few of the cast passed through the audience warming up the crowd with a bit of clowning around. I could instantly tell I was going to enjoy the show for much more than the performance alone.

The costumes were amazing, and I had yet to see the rest of the cast…

When the show finally began properly I was awestruck. Truly the rest of the costumes were so elegant and elaborate, true works of art in their own right. The colours, the feathers, the intricacies, I was glad to be close enough to get such a good look at the details of each outfit.

Of course the performances too left me gaping like a fish, I think I barely closed my mouth throughout the whole show, the acts were all so fascinating and captivating. Even the musical score was a delight to my ears, the rich accent of the singers provided a hauntingly beautiful backdrop to each set.

In the first half we witnessed the fantastic aerobatic circus performances of a trapeze act. The gymnastic talents of the hand balancing man who appeared to be made entirely of slender muscle,not a bone in his body, he could bend so much. The stage floor opened up to reveal hidden trampolines for the wickedly delightful ‘Power Track’ tumbling and bouncing – my favourite act of the first half. Another contortionist performing rhythmic gymnastics and hula. And the fire and knife dancing men, definitely not something to try at home!

Each act was interspersed with clowning around, the ‘Nostalgic Old Birds’, the gorgeous feathered nymphs and other colourful characters which added a humorous element to the show.

Cirque du Soleil, Alegria, at Royal Albert Hal...

Cirque du Soleil, Alegria, at Royal Albert Hall, London, UK. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The second half bought more aerobatic and gymnastic performances from the flying man to the Russian bars, which had men leaping and bouncing in the air from one flexible beam resting on the shoulders of their team mates to another beam and back with somersaults and twists that made you gasp – my favourite part of the second half. Another performance involving the clowns had me reminiscing of the two times I have been to see Slava’s Snow Show as  the scene performed was a close replica of part of that show. There was also more contortion with two snake like women flexing and twisting fluidly together on a rotating platform that rose from the stage. The show ended with the aerial high bar, from which a group of daring acrobats swung and span, catching one and other before diving into the net below.

This really was the experience of a life-time and I was so glad I had the desire and chance to see such a wonderful work of art and creativity up close. There was not a single moment that did not have me wide-eyed with astonishment and awe. It was a pleasure to all the senses, a marvel to behold. At times it even bought a tear to my eyes, I was that overwhelmed by how riveting and moving every element of the performances was.

If you have not had chance to see one of Cirque Du Soleil’s magnificent shows I highly recommend you put it on your list of things to see, because you will not be disappointed. I for one will be sure to go back and see another show when it is passing my way! 😀

Have you seen any of Cirque Du Soleil’s shows? What did you think of it?

15 comments on “Review – Cirque Du Soleil, Alegria

  1. Yes I have seen a few shows from Cirque du Soleil Alegria, Ka, Mystere and Zumanity. But the best part is my daughter works at the Viva Elvis show in las vegas and next month we will go and see her. greetings

  2. I so want to see a live performance of Cirque Du Soleil!!

    A show was shown on TV a few years back and I remember being mesmerised by it.

    Glad you enjoyed your time there!

  3. Yah!! Glad your took your Mum, nice idea! Would love to catch one of their shows sometime, probably not here on this isle though….. Nice review, thanks for sharing your fun with us 🙂

  4. We were at the NIA show on Friday 20th too. It really was an amazing show!
    Ordered the DVD as soon as we got home and we watched it again today with very fond memories!

Comments are closed.