Handmade Jewellery – Course update


At the end of April I started a jewellery making course at my local library. We are now halfway through the ten week course and have learnt the basics of creating a variety of pieces. As the course also has a business element we have also been working on our portfolio of work for the qualification.

I am enjoying the course and thought it would be nice to share what we have done so far…

Introduction to the course.

We were shown a range of beads, equipment and magazines that we might want/need find useful for developing our skills. The tutor also went through the work we need to do to complete the business element of the course. No jewellery made this week.

Week 1.

We started looking at market research and our target markets for the jewellery we plan to make. I identified that I am interested in making men’s jewellery and planned to look at what men’s jewellery is currently available and fashionable for research, I am also going to speak to men I know to find out what sort’s of jewellery they would be interested in. I am also thinking about making string art jewellery. We made our first piece of jewellery, a bracelet.

Following the class I made a matching necklace and earrings to go with the bracelet…

Week 2.

We started working on our action plan for the course, which is also a requirement for the business element and examined a list of supplier sources for us to obtain the supplies we need to make jewellery after the course finishes.

We made a pair of basic earrings…

Week 3.

I was absent due to being on my Arvon course, the group made a basic bead necklace and started to look at pricing.

Week 4.

We had a more detailed look at product pricing and business costs and started using a pricing sheet to record the cost of making an item of jewellery and how we would use this price and our business costs to work out a retail price for our products. We made a piece of illusion jewellery, a necklace on clear wire so it gives the illusion of ‘floating’. (Picture with week 5)

Week 5.

We continued work on pricing and costs and had our individual mid-course reviews with the tutor. This week we made a wirework ring. I decided to co-ordinate mine to match the necklace from the previous week. At home I then made a pair of earrings and a bracelet to also go with the necklace and ring.

Having done some research I am now planning to do shambala style and chainmaille style men’s jewellery and including a focus on guitar pic’s as features for some items. I hope to have a few pieces completed before the end of the course, which I will show you when I post about the rest of the course.

Do you make jewellery?

What is your favourite style/piece?

9 comments on “Handmade Jewellery – Course update

  1. I’ve started making a lot of my own jewelry because its WAY cheaper and it’s easier to get what I want. I’ve bought some on Ebay though and it seems to sell well. Everyone needs new jewelry as styles change constantly! I really like all the pieces you’ve shown!

  2. This course sounds like a lot of fun! It’s such a joy to create things.

    I don’t wear much jewelry (two rings, that’s about it) so I don’t have any input as far as your closing questions go. But I wanted to tell you what nice work you’ve done so far. Those are some lovely pieces. And I giggled at the whimsical way you arranged the pieces in the first picture into a smiley face. So cute!

    Keep up the good work and, more importantly, keep enjoying yourself!

Comments are closed.