Interview – Luke Truth (Musician)


I have great pleasure in introducing an up and coming young performer in my latest interview – Luke Truth. I met Luke through his work behind the bar in my local pub, where I also heard him sing for the first time. This guy really is a name to remember, he is going to be big!

Q. Can you tell us a little bit about you?

A. Hi, I’m Luke Truth a singer/songwriter aged 25. I write soulful stuff, play keys and do a bit of producing. I’m also the best pint puller in Redditch.

Q. How did you first get involved in music and why?

A. On a serious level it was when I left school. I went to college, an access to music course in Birmingham and did a music production course. That was when I started taking it seriously writing, producing and performing my own songs and networking with other artists. I’ve been doing that for 9 years now just perfecting my craft for that time.

Music was the only thing I was ever good at, I loved singing. I didn’t do well at school and was eventually kicked out because I was so naughty. A guy at Connexions (a youth support and employment service agency) asked what wanted to do, what I was interested in and I said music.  So then I did an audition for the access to music course, and was there for 3 years.

Also family very musical, my granddad is a singer, plays the guitar and writes own songs, he’s from Jamaica, he used to get out the guitar out and play when he looked after me. My Dad, Uncle, and Aunty are all singers; I’ve got recordings of them from when I was younger at family gatherings, Dad playing pots and pans as drums, Aunty singing and so on. Music, its in my blood.

Q. You used to sing under a different name, why did you change?

A. Yeah, I was ‘That Man Fox’. I used to rap a lot more and was involved grime scene a lot. My stuff was played on the radio, BBC1 Xtra. I had a big following, a large fan base. It was going well but it wasn’t me. As an MC singer you need to be a certain way to get anywhere, the cool kid drinking champagne in a bar, who gets all the girls and that not me, I knew would end up looking back regretting it if I stayed on that path. Some may think bad decision to change, but it was best for me. Started again from nothing, no fans, new style, new name, but now back on point again, I’ve been played on Radio One and there is growing interest, good stuff going on. I’ve bought it back on track.

Q. What is the most challenging thing about what you do?

A. I think it’s all a challenge really, to pursue a career in music. When all your mates and everyone are working a trade, they have the money, job, family, mortgage, but you are still in same place, it’s tough. Sticking at it and having faith in yourself. But gives me strength, every day I do it the stronger and better I become.

Q. Can you tell us about any interesting people you’ve met through your music?

A. The most interesting person I have met, I’ve met lots, I don’t know if any one is greater than another, they are all on their own journey. Not even just in music, the road of life. There was this Canadian ex-priest, Don, aged 52, a singer. I met him over Christmas when I was in Canada, he gave me perspective, you are never too old, we connected like pals buddies same age. We were teaching each other stuff. That was great. I meet people all the time, some are dry and square, some give you empty promises. But I have met some great people and know some seriously talented people. I met Wiley (he sings the Rolex song) he invented grime, he’s cool; Skepta, some grime guys from London. I have some friends in Birmingham like the EnR twins, cool entrepreneurs they started ‘Birmz is grime’.

Q. What is your biggest claim to fame so far?

A. Being played on Radio 1 that is massive. That was really cool, the amount of listeners they have. I was played by Benga and Skream on their dubstep show, last month a really exciting time. I was on TV earlier this year, to do with a music competition in Birmingham BBC news did an interview with me about it.

Q. What do you do when you aren’t making music?

A. I’m always making music! But I do pull the best pint in Redditch too…

Q. What is your most favourite thing about what you do?

A. Being creative, I love it, you can do it anywhere, meet loads of great people and it’s a way to release a lot of thoughts and emotions, the things that are like who can you say it to? I can say anything I want to say through my music.

Q. And the least?

A. I haven’t got a least favourite thing love everything about it.

Q. If you hadn’t chosen to get into music what would you like to do?

A. Something creative, it always would be something creative, where I can release part of myself and some way to make better the world, but I would never have gone another route. It’s music all the way.

Q. What tips would you give to someone looking to get into music?

A. Make sure you are actually good at it, some people are given false hopes, but other than that stick at it master your craft, don’t have a big ego, work hard, perfect your skill, and do it because you love it not because want to be rich and famous, if you do it for love then you will find happiness from it.

Q. What think of music shows such as Xfactor?

A. What can I say; they work for some people, each to their own. It is a good experience to audition, for something like that. They are good in a way but they glamorise singing so much, everyone wants to be a singer now, which is cool in a way, but at the same time the industry is full of wannabes, everyone wants to be famous. It’s good to have dreams and ambitions, but for those shows make people want it for the wrong reasons, cause they are plastered all over TV . People think it’s an easy route, but doesn’t really work like that. Neither for or against it, it is what it is, nothing I could say could make a difference to their existence anyway, but to be honest don’t really watch them and wouldn’t audition for them now. I did audition when was 16-17, but I was shy then, not ready for it, you need to play the game for those shows, have the look, the sob story etc. That was not what I was trying to do. Something new will come along anyway, they going downhill, some new reality TV thing will replace them.

The Fun Questions

Q. What did you have for breakfast?

A. Ham on toast

Q. Who would win a fight between pirates and ninjas?

A. Ninjas obviously they are trained assassins they can sneak into the room without you knowing they there, pirates are just drunk…

Q. If you were a tree what tree would you be?

A. I’d be a cannabis tree, lol. The biggest that ever existed, the buds people smoked off me would get them spiritually enlightened –  The Tree of Truth, smoke me to know the answers in life.

Q. What is the last book you read?

A. The Power – a follow on to The Secret by Rhonda Byrne, about the law of attraction and getting what you want from life, positive thinking, like attracts like. It’s not a self-help book, it’s deeper than that, more spiritual.

Q. What is your favourite song at the moment?

A. ‘Boiling’ by Disclosure featuring Sinead Harnett. It’s a British tune, with British producers, Sinead is from London. They are up and coming, and Sinead has an amazing voice, the producers are on another level, really happening.

Watch out for Luke Truth if you are into soul music conscious lyrics on a deeper level then check him out!

Luke features on a single being released at moment ‘Sunshine’ by Substantial Error feat Luke Truth. Management have big plans push the single into the limelight that should open doors and further careers – so watch this space!

If you want find Luke you can go to his Facebook Page, follow him on twitter @luketruthmusic or visit his YouTube channel where you can check out the latest videos from Luke Truth.

7 comments on “Interview – Luke Truth (Musician)

  1. Enjoyed your interview- I really like hearing about people who are living out their dreams, not necessarily going with the masses in life. It’s inspiring to me.
    Pretty impressive he was played on Radio 1, hope things go really well in the future for him.

  2. Pingback: The Big Society, Part 2 – Volunteering and My Local Area | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Comments are closed.