You dirty RAT! – Guest Post by Karen


Karen Thomas

My guest today is Karen Thomas. Karen has an administrative background, but in recent years, worked in the media and community organisations.  She has an interest in photography, poetry, writing and the arts in general. Karen is looking at launching a Social Enterprise sometime. She also appeared in the ITV1 documentary “The Unluckiest Faces in Britain” in 2003.  Karen’s website is: www.kazthomas.org. Today she is sharing with us why she feels ‘rat’s’ may be misunderstood…

Since I arrived in the countryside, reclaiming my life after being a full time carer of my parents’, I’ve become acquainted with rats.   Please do not leave these writings yet!!  My observations of these creatures of nature, is teaching me quite a few lessons about life in general and business.

I’ve been told by people that I have a problem, having them about in my surroundings and that I should do all that I can to eliminate them in my life.  They carry with them a reputation that is negative; they are dirty, many and are “yuk” to be there!  OK let’s look at that again … dirty, many and “yuk”.  I think we should also add to that; Resourceful, clean and on occasion entertaining.   What do we learn from this?

We do everything possible to kill them off, yet they keep coming back in greater abundance in the population.  They are incredibly clean; believe me, their fur condition is amazing (A good euphemism for ethics).  When threatened, they run like hell that even Usain Bolt couldn’t keep up.  Their agility, where you least expect, is phenomenal.  Does this picture remind you of someone?

Rats

Rats (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As an up-coming Entrepreneur, these are qualities I recognise in the business world and life in general.  These creatures are greatly misunderstood and yet are punished when they shouldn’t be.

The rat carries a lot of baggage, much of it misread.  Where do these assumptions and related reputation come from?  Us and history!  We could be wrong.  In the chain of life, we are there for a reason.  Much like in networking, our paths cross with other people for a purpose.

There is a point to these thoughts!  Namely, the powers that be cannot destroy Entrepreneurs and populations, hard as they try, misguided or otherwise.  People are resourceful, the same as the rat, and we will fight the tide of what life challenges us with.  All I can say is; Power to the Rats and People!  We can do it!!

When James Cagney said “You dirty rat” – maybe he was incorrect?

***

Is life just a ‘rat-race’

Have you learnt a life lesson from an unexpected source?

