Happy New Year


Happy New Year

Happy New Year (Photo credit: James Marvin Phelps)

Hey everyone! 😀

Yeah I’m still here, I survived the hellish Christmas Season and ready to battle through another year.

How was Christmas and New Year for you? Good I hope?

Anyway, as regulars will know I don’t do New Year Resolutions and normally I will do a list instead of new things to try but after the epic fail on that last year I’m settling for something simpler this year…

I saw this post on Facebook and thought, you know what that is a really good idea because people like me spend far too much time thinking, worrying and getting upset over the bad things that the good things can get lost in the haze…

Here is what I saw:

'Good Thing's' jarpicture credit: Facebook

‘Good Thing’s’ jar
picture credit: Facebook

So for 2013 I am going to write down ‘good things’ on slips of paper as they happen and put them in my jar. It doesn’t matter what happens after, if those good things go bad, at the moment they occurred they made me smile, laugh or just happy so they are good memories.

I think this is a really nice idea and that anyone who, like me, spends a lot of time going through hard things should do it, and maybe not even wait till the end of the year to have a peek, if you are having a bad time maybe you should open it up and have a read there and then to help you feel better? – Just remember however bad things get don’t stop and DON’T throw it away (I know many of us BPD’ers might do that in one of our black spells!)

Happy New Year to all my readers, hopefully I will have a few posts to share with you from time to time 🙂

What do you think?

Will you do a ‘good things’ jar this year?

What else are you going to do to help make 2013 a good year for you?

 

8 comments on “Happy New Year

  1. Your comment about not tossing the jar in the trash during a bad spell reminds me when about 30 years ago (been married 49 years this June), a father of one of our son’s friends was dropping him off back home after our son spent the weekend at his house. On our mantle above the fireplace was a wedding photo of me & my husband in a silver frame. So I got married at 19 & was probably about 31 when this occurred.

    That father looked at the photo & said, “Wow! You sure were cute!” You can guess what word I focused on–WERE. So as soon as he left I went into a hysterical, crying rage that was filled w/emotional pain & ripped up that wedding photo & started ripping up our whole wedding album until my husband stopped me.

    Oversenstive? Who–ME??

    • Indeed, I knew it was important to mention that as I know how much restraint even I will need (despite being recovered) to not just throw it away if I have a really bad time! It can be so hard to see past the bad things when you are low 😦

  2. Lovely idea. Happy new year Sharon. Wishing you ONLY the best for 2013! Xx

  3. This is great! I actually was thinking of starting a Journal where I’d write what I’m grateful for each day… but this Jar idea sounds even better! I think I might do this instead 🙂

    As to what I’m doing this year to make it good for me… I’m making changes in my life… started meditation and breathing routine that I do each morning before I shower and get ready for the day, am working on being more mindful and aware… living in the moment and letting go of my past instead of letting it continue to torment me in my day to day life. I’m continuing to go to my weekly sessions with my spiritual advisor- its my form of therapy.

    I hope your year has gotten off to a good start, and look forward to reading your future posts! ❤ Jas

    • I think it’s good, and easier than a journal which might feel like a pressure at times when you see those empty pages looming at you! lol 🙂

      Sounds like a good plan for progress to me, I’m still going to therapy at times when I can fit in around work.

      An up and down start already but hoping to make it a better year than last year was! I will try to post when I can 😀 Hope 2013 is a great year for you ❤ xx

Comments are closed.