Poem – Don’t…


The Infernal Depths of Hatred

The Infernal Depths of Hatred (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Don’t get close to me
It hurts

Don’t love me
It hurts

Don’t want me
I’ll run away fast

Don’t care for me
I’ll run away fast

Use me
It feeds my self-hatred

Abuse me
It feeds my self-hatred

Take advantage of me
I need it

Lust after me
I need it

I’m broken
and this is how I cope

Think it’s about time someone threw out a rope
To save me…

2 comments on “Poem – Don’t…

  1. That really captures it, very succinctly and artfully. I know you get a lot of comments on this site from people who love someone with borderline personality disorder, people fortunate enough to not have it. Consider this just another one 🙂

    It’s difficult. I’m learning not to try to analyze, and fix, not even on an indirect level. Seeing such intense pain in someone I love without being able to help, being refused the chance, it’s frustrating. Now, I just listen. No judging, no opinions, no “maybe we should try x, y, or z”. Just listening, and problem-solving when it’s wanted. Your writing is very helpful and I appreciate it enormously.

    • Thank you Tree, it’s lovely to hear of someone who is gaining a good understanding of BPD and able to support their loved one with BPD. I hope your loved one is on a journey to recovery, you will be amazed how much more wonderful they are when they finally have better control of their emotions! 😀

Comments are closed.