On the road again


Driving Cars in a Traffic Jam

Driving Cars in a Traffic Jam (Photo credit: epSos.de)

So, once again my car is back on the road! I can’t tell you how happy I am, and how much I hope there won’t be any further problems with it…

Any of you who drive (and especially if like me, you only became a driver later in life) must surely agree that the freedom a car gives, is something that until you have it you don’t know what you are missing, but once you have that freedom, you couldn’t bare to be without it! Am I right?

The garage did suggest I may wish to consider getting something more economical soon, which saddens me as I love my Saab, but I do understand where they are coming from. I just don’t really want to be spending any more money at the moment, but would it not be better to change it now? While it’s in good running order, or do I risk waiting? Tough decisions ahead…
I don’t know a great deal about cars, other than whether it is aesthetically pleasing to me; hey I’m a girl, and yeah, when it comes to cars, I’m shallow – it has to ‘look’ good! This will not help me to make a good choice, if I do go ahead with getting a new car.
So, I think I may rope in a few male friends who know a thing or two about cars, to help me make a good choice that isn’t based entirely on the shape and colour of the vehicle – ohh’ and of course, it must have very comfortable seats and cruise control! Haha

Whatever I decide, I know one thing for sure, choosing my insurance will be easy. The first thing I will do to try and find the best deal is to compare car insurance.  I did this when my insurance was up for renewal at the beginning of April. I’ve always been the kind of person that looks for a better deal each year, rather than just renew with the same insurer. Does anyone still do that anymore?
Due to being a relatively new driver (with not much in the way of no claims discounts and with a 1.9L car) my insurance has typically been very high, but I finally hit my fifth year as a driver this year, which I’m sure helped a bit towards reducing my premiums!
Anyway, as a result of doing a comparison I ended up saving nearly £700 on my insurance compared to what I was paying last year; that was almost half the price as well. That has been a great help, considering everything else going on as my monthly payments have, of course, also halved. Sure, the minor bump I’ve had since is going to affect that, but it’s still going to be a lot better than what I was paying last year! Phew!
Right, I’m off to have a look at new cars to see how much I can get one for and if I can find anything that catches my eye as much as my beautiful Saab – wish me luck! Hehe

*Disclaimer – This is a sponsored post*

